We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in a campervan on the low field. You have to pay extra for the top level. But it was much quieter where I was so I was happy. Very good value at $18 a night. Good kitchen facilities - no cooking utensils, only chopping boards, but it was very clean. Also a good sized indoor eating area. Very difficult to watch the TV though when other people are chatting. Showers are paid for with 50 cent pieces for six minutes. They are daft - had these elsewhere - the coin box is on the outside of the shower which is OK if you only need six minutes. If you need to wash your hair etc you have to come out naked and wet to put more money in and hope no one is out side!
The owner is very friendly. Comes round to chat and invited me into his home for tea one morning. His wife is also very friendly as was the other lady who booked me in. Very helpful, checked weather conditions regularly for me and called the dolphin tour company to check what the best day for the trip would be.
I ended up staying an extra night. Russell is also a lovely little town, though very quiet in the evenings at this time of year with very few restaurants open.
But it has probably been my favourite site and place so far in my almost two months of traveling in NZ

Room Tip: Better views on top level, but lower field was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We were very pleased to hear your stay with us in Russell was your favourite during your two month stay in New Zealand.
The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and we were sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by having no cooking utensils available in the communal kitchen. Therefore, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we do have cooking utensils, pots, pans, etc available at reception, at no charge, if required. Unfortunately, we no longer keep cooking utensils in the communal kitchen area as they tend to disappear. Just ask at reception and we would be happy to assist.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having paid extra for a deluxe powered camper van site we found the pitch extremely cramped, but we did have a good view.
We could imagine some drivers having problems getting onto their pitch, and conversations from several too close neighbours heard continually. Showers and toilets all excellent, but steps down to them were slippery after rain. The cooking facilities were electric radiant cooking rings which took ages to heat sufficiently. Lovely site but we thought not good value. We stayed here for three nights .

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fogeybus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We attempoeted to stay at this camper van park. all other Top 10 sites had been excellent. Russell was the most expensive at well over $60pn and they had the nerve to then charge extra for hot showers. The problem was though that the area had a power cut. the park obviously had no back up generator as it should and no one came to help the clients who were left totally in the dark without facilities. We moved to another site in Opua.The next day I asked for a refund (or at least a free night), the owner promised to get back to me but of course didnt!
This is the only real bad experience we had of Top 10, which I would highly recommend but..dont stay in this one!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StyleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of the unscheduled power outage that affected the whole of the Russell township and surrounding areas.
The enjoyment of our guests stay is paramount to us and when the power went out unexpectedly on 16th April we did a walk around the Park, checking on guests and offering torches or assistance, if required.
Once again, we are sorry to hear your stay with us did not live up to expectations as a result of situation that was outside of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very good campsite in the middle of Russel. It's very quiet and clean. We were on the lower field so didn't get the views the others had but it didn't matter too much.

The seagulls are a bit of a plague here and trying to cook or eat outside is difficult. If you leave your food while it's cooking even for a second the seagulls will get it. They are also very brave and will land on your table while you try to eat. I'm not sure what the owners can do about this, but it was the only campsite where we experienced this problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed as a family with a 4 year old and 8 year old and had a wonderful time.

We were given a unit which had visiting Weka's at the deck. A real treat for the girls. They'd never seen them before and the birds have such a curious and sweet temperament. The birds are also friendly, quiet and didn't poop around the unit for those worried about such matters!

Amazing sun-sets, a great playground, friendly staff (reception and cleaning), comfortable beds, nice and hot water in showers, quiet, easy walking distant to the village and excellent information on arrival- a throughly enjoyable place to stay at.

Unlike many places where you stay that has a "kitchen", it was well very stocked with all the utensils you need (including sharp kitchen knives and a sharpen, a pet hate of mine when there are none) and although it had no oven, there were more than one oven in the shared kitchen and we didn't suffer for it as there was a generous electric frying pan in the unit.

We were very happy with our stay and would very definitely list any complaints if we had any.

Room Tip: The higher up the rise the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Until we arrived at the quayside we hadn't realised that reaching this campsite would require a ferry crossing ($18.50 for our motorvan as it was over 3m high). Somehow we missed the signpost for the road access, but the guidebook says that it's 'easily missed' so we aren't the only ones!

The staff member at Reception was extremely helpful and phoned another Top 10 site for us to rearrange a different booking. Despite other people arriving at Reception she carefully went through the site details with us and made sure we had all the information we needed.

We were directed to one of the 'nice' pitches at the top of the site, for which I suspect we paid extra as this was the most expensive of all the Top 10 sites we stayed at in the whole of NZ. On studying the site plan later there appeared to be other powered pitches in the camping field at the bottom of the site but we were not offered one of those - I suspect they may have been cheaper. The motorvan pitches at the top of the site are ok if people park as directed, but on the last night of our stay two motor vans parked at right angles to the correct alignment which meant that the one in the pitch closest to us was less than one metre from our motorvan - uncomfortably and unnecessarily close.

The views to the sea from the top area, the kitchens and BBQ area are delightful and the sunsets are quite remarkable.

This is a lovely site and I would be happy to stay here again, but I would recommend avoiding Saturday nights in the summer as the site is less than a ten minute walk to town and Russell is becoming (so I was told by locals) increasingly popular as a wedding venue. On the Saturday night we stayed in Russell there were two wedding receptions taking place, a birthday party and live music at the pub - all of which were noisy and continued until 1a.m. This is not something the campsite staff can control, but is something to bear in mind if you prefer quiet when falling asleep at night.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank HampshireSue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations on the Saturday night you stayed with us. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues with the vans parked next to your site that were encroaching on your space and privacy. If we had known we would have dealt with this issue immediately to rectify the situation. Regarding the sites on the lower field we are confident that we offer all guests the choice of a deluxe powered site with views or a standard powered site on the lower field at check in. The price difference is minimal ($3.60 difference per night for a TOP 10 Club Member). We would have gladly refunded the difference if you wished to move to the standard sites on the lower field after checking in, if we had been made aware. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and this can only be achieved through good communication so any issues you are experiencing can be dealt with at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a brilliant time,due to a slight accident in the kitchen my wife got her arm burnt but the staff were fantastic and dealt with it admirably.Thank god for aloe vera.They helped us with trips and were so very friendly(almost family)The showers were only 50 cents and NOT $2 as reported before.Infact it was so good we went back for a second time before returning to uk

Room Tip: if you are in a campervan pay to go uptop,the view is brilliant(so are the ducks,seagulls and wekka)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carboncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range: $64 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing