We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night with our two dogs. The property is beautiful. The room, bathrooms and kitchen were very clean. The common area was well maintained. You do have to bring your own kitchen materials - pots, pans, plates etc. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
55
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent one night in our campervan at Orongo. Was at the end of season so we were allowed our pick of the sites. The staff were very friendly and keen to impart local knowledge of Russell. Clean showers and toilets. Large and tidy kitchen, with nearby barbecue facilities. Close to the Russell ferry. Hens and ducks roam the camp and weka / kiwi sightings are possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissSunshine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We loved our eco cabin, comfortable bed with a shower better than I have at home. It provided everything we needed for a private quiet night - fridge, microwave, wine glasses, etc. Best of all it was magic sitting on the deck at night listening to the surrounding wildlife - stunning! It's a short drive from the ferry and Russell. I love the Bay of Islands, but dislike noisy crowded Paihia. If you're looking for an alternative, look no more - this place idyllic.

Room Tip: Eco cabin provides own ensuite, near the bush to listen to the kiwis and wekas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaandLouiseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
386 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very avg holiday park with small rooms, with only beds and a mini frigde!. May be for alcoholics. you have to get yr linen and cutlery or rent them. good bust location but not well kept. toliets/ bathroom together and was stinking of piss.its midway between car ferry terminal and town. Can do much much better.......

Room Tip: avoid next to the toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycamperRussell, Owner at Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are sorry that you you did not enjoy your stay in our budget room during Easter. The room you chose was our cheapest costing $134.20 or $26.84 per adult as there were 5 adults in your family in our 20 square metre budget room. This price is considerably cheaper than dorm beds in a backpackers over Easter. In your room we provided a new sleepyhead queen bed with an inner sprung mattress and 3 single beds. All the beds, as stated on our website, come with mattress protectors and a fitted sheet, pillow and pillow slip. The room, as advertised, also comes with a small fridge and table and chairs.
As stated on our website, guests provide their own sleeping bag/duvet and cooking and eating gear for our cheapest accommodation. We do have a range of other accommodation options including fully self contained with all bedding, bathroom and full kitchens.
You told us that you had not read the booking advice which states what you need to bring with you, so we hired you the items you wanted for $18.
We clean the shared bathrooms a minimum of twice per day. If guests perceive an issue with our accommodation, it is very helpful if they convey this to us, as we are able and willing to address any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

On the website the holiday park looks amazing and it sure does look amazing in real life too. However, we enquired in advance about the Tipi's that they have on offer to stay in. It says online that they are $60 a night which seemed okay for a 'different' kind of camping experience. When we rang they then told us that it was $80. When we asked why the change in price they said that the Tipi's are in high demand (it was April - and the holiday park was empty). We came to realise that they only have the 1 tipi which is not evident on the website and it seemed that they could up the price whenever they wanted - which I don't think it very good. If you have a set price online then keep to it OR at least put '$60-$80 (depending on the time of year)'. AND do not put a variety of tipi's available...because there isn't! Two of the people ended up sleeping elsewhere and we took the Tipi for the night. It sleeps 3 people comfortably. The mattress' was very very damp and dirty. Quite uncomfortable. I also ended up getting bitten there and ended up at hospital!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in a chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janinelaura89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycamperRussell, Owner at Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are sorry if you were bitten by an insect. A tipi stay is a form of camping and there is a lot of insect life within the native bush of New Zealand. Many of the insects provide food to our abundant birdlife. A torch and insect repellent we recommend as useful - particularly if you are allergic to insect bites.
On the tipi page of our website we state that the tipi is from $60 per night. On the booking page of our website the actual rate for up to a year or so in advance is advised. We explained to the lady organising your booking that our rates are seasonal and we offered a discounted rate of $70 per night as a goodwill gesture and this was accepted. There were a number of guests staying with us that night, however our Holiday Park grounds are spacious with many private and secluded areas.
We don't advertise a variety of tipis as we currently have only one tipi - we think you must be referring to our variety of accommodation options statement on our website.
The two people who slept elsewhere initially told us they had arranged accommodation somewhere else and then arrived wanting accommodation after 10pm, two hours after our office had closed ( our office hours are also advised on our website) The late arrivals asked to sleep in their van near the tipi which we agreed to.
We are sorry if you found the mattress damp - it is a new one and not dirty. Both beds are on a low wooden base on a wooden floor which is easy to keep clean and dry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this convenient and very good campsite. Free hot water showers, all the facilities you could possibly need in a clean and friendly environment. Thoroughly recommend trying this out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick9962014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The staff here were just fabulous, with their local knowledge and personal touch in ensuring that our stay enjoyable. They happily booked our tours and gave some great suggestions that we took on board. We stayed in a cabin which suited us perfectly and the amenities where always clean and spotless. Thank you Angela & Anne for such a great time in Russell.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela14Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
2.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Clendon
The Clendon
#8 of 20 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.0 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Property: Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5960 Russell Whakapara Road, Russell 0272, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few places in New Zealand where you can have close encounters with kiwi and weka in their natural environment. Affordable accommodation options in a picturesque setting. From privately situated fully self contained bungalows through to cabins for families and couples, the accommodation at this award winning Holiday Park features decks to make the most of the relaxed indoor/outdoor living opportunities of a sunny climate. Choose your own spacious powered or unpowered camp site and enjoy facilities which include a swimming pool, playground, outdoor games, fish smokehouse, BBQ areas, campfire, a free information and cruise/tour booking service and free boat parking. An enviro gold and four star Holiday Park and a central base from which you can explore Russell and the Bay of Islands. Adjacent to the Russell walkway and the Bay of Islands Full Circle Day Walk. Conveniently located to the Cape Brett Track, Te Araroa and the Kawakawa/Kaikohe cycle trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing