We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Aboard for a Great Day Out”
Review of Phantom Sailing

Phantom Sailing
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A day out on Phantom gives you a chance to get away from the crowds. This is adventure, relaxation and scenic beauty all in one with the personal atmosphere created by your hosts, Rick and Robin. Enjoy a great home cooked lunch amongst the beauty of the islands on this great owner- operator boat.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On our first day in the beautiful little port of Russell, we spotted a racing yacht heeling well over as it sailed back and forth in the bay. We enquired about it at the kiosk on the jetty, to discover that we could enjoy the experience for ourselves. So we did. Next day we joined 2 other couples aboard for one of the highlights of our NZ tour. The sailing was sometimes relaxing, sometimes exhilerating but always enjoyable. We sailed to a lovely island where we were rowed ashore to explore. We climbed the path to the hilltop vantage point to take photos, then returned to the beach where we decided to swim back to the boat anchored out in the bay. Once aboard (this involved climbing out of the water up a vertical ladder)we were treated to an excellent lunch by our host and hostess, before the return leg which provided just as much pleasure as the outward journey. If the opportunity to go Phantom Sailing presents itself, don't miss it.
The phantom can take up to 10 guests so we were fortunate to be one of only 3 couples that day but the whole enterprise was so well run by Rick and Robyn who so welcoming that I am sure any number of guests (up to 10) would enjoy as superb an experience as ourselves.

1  Thank J2McFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much for this review. Glad to hear that sailing through the harbour was a great advertisement. We love what we do and reading reviews like yours validate our lifestyle. Hope you can join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

After reading all the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor my friend booked us on a trip on the Phantom. I had no idea what a wonderful day it was going to be! Before we had even boarded the boat I knew we were in good company - Rick and Robin had remembered our names and the stories had already begun.
Lucky for us, we had the most beautiful day for it. Robin and Rick were so friendly and made us feel right at home on their boat. We had dolphins come right up to our boat and swim along with us and we also saw penguins.
We anchored at Roberton Island and got an hour to have a wander around and look at the spectacular views after swimming to shore. On arrival back at the boat we were treated to a delicious lunch.
Although the boat trip was breathtaking and definitely one of my favourite days in New Zealand, the most unforgettable part of the trip was the wonderful hospitality from Rick and Robin. They have so many tales of wonderful adventures they have been on around the world, even though it was an all day trip I could have happily stayed on the boat for another week! Thanks to Rick and Robin for an unforgettable day.

1  Thank Suze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

It was great having you on the boat and sharing a lot of fun tales form all of our lives. Great sailing and conversation make for a memorable day. Glad to hear you enjoyed your day and thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived in Russell and discovered what a gem it is with its beautiful scenery and stylish waterfront. Of course you get a totally different but equally stunning perspective when out on the water. There are a number of choices when it comes to a day out on a boat and we chose Phantom because we wanted a more personal experience and the limitation to ten people was ideal. Our day on Phantom was amazing! She is a beautiful boat and Robin and Rick are perfect hosts with a massive knowledge of sailing. Hearing about their adventures certainly added to the fun of the day! We enjoyed a delicious lunch, the fish being caught and smoked the day before. Dolphins came to investigate and play alongside. A tranquil stopover was taken at Roberton Island where we walked to the viewpoint with gorgeous panoramic views. We highly recommend this experience.

Thank janiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your day on Phantom. We consider ourselves very lucky to be able to provide a fantastic day on the bay. We love the job that we have feel great when someone writes such a special review. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thank you Robin and Rick you are truly wonderful hosts and we had a great time out in the bay with you guys. We started our day from the wharf at Russel where we were met by Captain Rick and his first mate Robin. After a bit of a chin wag and a discussion on about using the head (toilet) we set of. It was a very calm morning so we slowly made our way out to Roberton Island along the way catching a glimpse of Kahawai, Blue Penguins and Bottlenose Dolphins.
Arriving at Roberton Island we then jumped ship and swam ashore and then climbed to the top of the lookout with amazing views out over the bay. See photos. We then swam back to the Phantom for a great conversation over a wonderful light lunch that Robin had prepared. After lunch we set sail as the afternoon winds had picked up. Rick set up the spinnaker and we were away. Nothing can quite compare with the sensation of sailing on the ocean with nothing but the help of the wind. Again we were visited by Dolphins as we headed back into Russell with the assistance of an easterly breeze. What an awesome day out. A trip that is not to be missed. You must do this if you are staying in Paihia or Russell. The Phantom only leaves from Russell so if you are staying in Paihia just jump on the ferry over to the Russell and meet them there.

1  Thank GrapeEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

How can we say thank you for such a wonderful review. We both had a great day with the two of you, and we really appreciate the fantastic pictures you put on with your review. Just to set the record straight, so as not too confuse any sailors reading your review, we set a genoa instead of a spinnaker. Just shows you the benefit of taking small numbers on the boat, we can have a great day with just two guests on board. Really great meeting you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second sailing trip with the Phantom and it was as awesome as the first one. Rick and Robin made this journey again to a special one! We love the hospitality of them both. Robin's homemade food was again exceptional yummy! We won't hesitate to do it a third time!

1  Thank Albert and Isa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for coming to see us again and for such an important birthday. You are both fantastic people and we loved that you chose to come for a wonderful event with your friends. They were also a great couple. Regards from both of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phantom Sailing also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Phantom Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing