We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent day around the bay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phantom Sailing

Phantom Sailing
Ranked #1 of 14 Tours in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A day out on Phantom gives you a chance to get away from the crowds. This is adventure, relaxation and scenic beauty all in one with the personal atmosphere created by your hosts, Rick and Robin. Enjoy a great home cooked lunch amongst the beauty of the islands on this great owner- operator boat.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent day around the bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a brilliant day, sailing around the islands! Rick and Robin are excellent company and the lunches are great! Highlight for me had to be the dolphins swimming alongside the boat! We also enjoyed a swim in the lagoon. Very relaxing and great for couples or families!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeccaH1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Great to meet you and the family and we think it's a fantastic way to spend a stress-free, relaxing way of catching us. Glad you combined your anniversaries and birthdays with a day on Phantom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super days sailing with rick and Robyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A super days sailing on the red phantom . It was great to be away from the large tourist boats as the phantom only takes a few . A delishous lunch was prepared by Robyn on board whilst we swam and relaxed on a quiet beach on one of the many islands . Highly recommended if you wish to do something different and away from the masses . We spotted dolphins and small penguins on route .

Helpful?
Thank HowardGuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Great to read your thoughts on the day. We enjoyed the company of you and your wife and hope we see you next time you visit NZ. This review means al lot to us as I know yu are a frequent user of TripAdvisor. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Russell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A sail around the Bay of Islands is the essence of life in this part of New Zealand. Rick and Robin are the ideal hosts to share their knowledge of sailing, history, culture and the stunning beauty of this area. We had an amazing day on the Phantom and highly recommend booking a trip with these wonderful folks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2dive_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for that review. We really enjoyed having you aboard and showing you the Bay. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A superb 'day in the bay'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Rick and Robin are excellent hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our day on Phantom. I am a little nervous about sailing but I felt very safe and secure. Lunch was great, as was the swim to the beach and all the interesting local information. A very friendly day, with only 8 passengers and a maximum of just 10; quite a contrast to some of the overcrowded tourist boats we saw leaving the wharf. Really enjoyed talking to Robin about travel and life in Russell.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brittraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank yo for that very positive review. Coming second to the sailing it the opportunity to meet interesting people and enjoy conversation. Making you feel relaxed in an unknown environment is always what we set out to do. Glad it worked and you enjoyed your trip with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day on the sea!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

After a one-day delay in our outing due to weather, we set out Wednesday, March 13.
It was a wonderful day!!! Rick and Robin are super hosts who treat you as if you are their dear friends. And by the end of the outing, we certainly felt that we were, in fact, good friends. The big PLUS of going on Phantom, as Rick and Robin strongly point out, is that it is decidedly un-touristy: not crowded, intimately friendly, hands-on, folksy, relaxed and informal. We motored out to a secluded beach, swam to shore while lunch was being prepared, then swam back to the boat to eat a fresh and delicious lunch. Then the sailing began. A very safe, stable and joyful ride.
Thanks, Rick and Robin, for a great day!!
Alan, Poughkeepsie, NY

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_gogo_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for this review. You just about covered the day and it sounds like we did a good job. As we said, we have never had a day totally without wind and while we had to motor in the morning that was a great sail in the afternoon sea breeze. Hope we get to see you again if you get back to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phantom Sailing also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Phantom Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing