We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sail here if you want an intimate, mom and pop experience”
Review of Phantom Sailing

Phantom Sailing
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A day out on Phantom gives you a chance to get away from the crowds. This is adventure, relaxation and scenic beauty all in one with the personal atmosphere created by your hosts, Rick and Robin. Enjoy a great home cooked lunch amongst the beauty of the islands on this great owner- operator boat.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sail here if you want an intimate, mom and pop experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We knew we wanted to sail, that is what you do here in the Bay of Islands, but we did not want to go on a big tour boat. We were thrilled to find Phantom Sailing and loved going out with Rick and Robin. They keep the numbers down (under 10, we had 8), personalize the experience, and feed you delicious home cooked food. We even booked last minute, only an hour before the trip left, with no problems. Definitely recommend this trip to any travelers who are looking for a fun, relaxed atmosphere. FYI it is BYOB if interested.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for saying those lovely things. I enjoyed reminiscing about my home town as well. You both were great guests and hope you enjoyed all your travels in NZ. It was so nice to meet you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out on Phantom”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful day with Rick and Robin sailing on Phantom. It's a lovely boat and Rick and Robin are very relaxing and delightful hosts. They have a lot of local knowledge about the area, as well as sailing. We sailed to Robertson Island, stopped for a swim and a stroll up a hill for gorgeous views. The sailing was fun, fast and not at all intimidating, even if you haven't sailed before. A big bonus, passenger size is limited to 10 people so you feel that this is a very personal experience. Robin's home cooked lunch (even the bread) was delicious (and healthy.) Loved it, and would highly recommend this as a great day out. Anne and Stuart

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for this special review. It's quite wonderful to know that you are getting it right and your review really does reflect what the day on Phantom is like - would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are looking for a individual trip for a day on a sailing boat then go for Rick and Robin on their Phantom. Entering the salon you can feel the soul of the the boat and the passion of its owners for sailing. Rick and Robing really care about their guest and are able to create a relaxed and joyful atmosphere. After a short while I thought that I knew them for years and considered them as friends taking you along for a day trip on their boat.

They know the Bay of Islands by heart and take you to bays and beaches where you will only meet a few people. I have been on this boat 2 years ago and, thus, they took us to a different island this time - a lovely place. While you are discovering a small piece of the bay of island they prepare an excellent lunch. All food is fresh and homemade, e.g., the fish had been caught and smoked on the day before and was delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leukipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for tis fantastic review and also for coming back to sail with us again with your lovely lady. We really enjoyed the day with you and sharing stories. Hoe you come back for third trip now that you're living in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Real Sailing in the Bay of Islands”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

No roaring engines and crowds. Just a select few passengers in the hands of a master skipper on his delightful ocean going racing sloop. With the wind in you hair and sailing round the beautiful remore islands, a swim to a deserted beach and lunch included. ;-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for you very positive review. We really enjoy being able to show our guests a little piece of paradise in the way that we ourselves enjoy it! Hope you get to join us on another trip in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

An experience not to be missed. We spent a terrific day, very relaxed, with a swim and a walk on the beach, delicious food, and warm and welcoming hosts. all in the beautiful surrounding of the Bay of Islands. If you are in the area, we highly recommend taking the time to sail with Rick and Robin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Osher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for writing this great review. It really means a lot to us. It was fantastic to spend the day with you both and I really look forward to more of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phantom Sailing also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Phantom Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing