We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
other travelers have booked this property
Better than Beachfront. This Beach House is ON the beach. Private beach access with no road to cross
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Better than Beachfront. This Beach House is ON the beach. Private beach access with no road to cross
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar unobstructed views Tapeka Beach to Tapeka Point
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Better than Beachfront. This Beach House is ON the beach. Private beach access with no road to cross
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar unobstructed views
Tapeka Beach to Tapeka Point
Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
Superb location between two beaches. Extensive private grounds and direct beach access
Sit back and enjoy the view - glass doors open the living room onto the deck
Relaxing nautical theme with a Cape Cod feel and comfy leather sofas
5 Kayaks, dinghy (row boat), mooring and diving pontoon
HOT outdoor shower to rinse off after a swim. So close to the beach you can leave your towel behind
King master with ensuite bathroom, TV, safe, phone and sea views
View from the master bedroom. Direct access to covered verandah, deck and beach
Modern heated bathrooms
Front bedroom with Queen and Single bed. Sea views and direct outdoor access
Side bedroom - Queen and King Single. Ceiling fan. Verandah access
Fully equipped kitchen with ice maker, Dishwashers, Nespresso machine, serving platters
Onkyo Bose home theatre, Sat TV, DVD, AppleTV, BT streaming and outdoor speakers
Unobstructed views with an endless procession of passing vessels
Tapeka Beach and Point with the Islands beyond
Side and rear bedrooms. Ample off street parking
Lots of room inside and out. Only the private lawn between the house and beach
View from the beach in front past the ever popular all tide diving pontoon
Swim with Dolphins off the beach and watch passing Orca
Filleting station for the days catch - plus beer fridge and bait freezer
Volleyball on the reserve opposite
Yacht on the deep water guest mooring
Nearby Roberton Island anchorage and lagoon - the closest to Tapeka Del Mar
Histortic Russell village, restaurants, attractions and boat trips 2 minutes away
Christ Church Russell - oldest in NZ with history back to the whalers and early settlers
Waitangi Treaty grounds and Maori meeting house
Russell Wharf where the passenger ferry to Paihia and Island boat trips depart
Tall ship R Tucker Thomson day sailing from Russell wharf
Romantic year round sunsets
The ultimate Kiwi beach Vacation Rental BOOK NOW!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheree S
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Tapeka Del Mar for a few days in the July school holidays with our five children (16, 15, 14, 13 & 11) and our dog, Rango. Even though it rained most of the time, we had a really wonderful family holiday. There were lots of DVDs and games, and the teenagers even did a jigsaw puzzle (never seen them do that before!). Such a beautiful outlook and setting. Must be stunning in the summertime. My husband and I went out for a meal at the Duke of Marlborough - totally recommend this restaurant. Husband reckons it was the best pork he has ever had. Three fish were caught from the dingy, just out in the harbour ... and in only 30 minutes! Clive was an exceptional holiday "landlord" and phoned us on arrival to make sure we were settled in okay. Really appreciated his thoughtfulness. We will most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: The rain
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review. We are pleased you had a good time despite wet weather. Summer does add another dimension and you are welcome back any time to experience it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris C
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Can't beat Snapper on the BBQ”
Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Wow, what a location right on the beach with a large flat lawn for a spot of touch football.
Nothing like sitting on the deck listening to a little "Adele" with a glass of Sav. Blanc in your hand watching the sun go down over the water, awesome. Clean & tidy with a well-appointed Kitchen. The beds were comfortable & the showers held good pressure. The large bedroom / rumpus room out the back was a great space for our son & daughter to hangout. We struck excellent weather, so plenty of swims & Kayaking prevailed.
With a handy boat ramp we managed to catch two excellent feeds of fish.
(difficult launching at low tide - not a biggy) Tried a couple of inexpensive restaurants in Russell, but let’s face it you can't beat fresh snapper on the BBQ!
Can't wait till next year............ we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach Front with easy access to the water
Liked least: Nothing really - can't think of anything
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. You clearly made the most of it and we look forward to having you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McRae2011
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excelent!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed at Tapeka del Mar for 6 days, 14 of us in total (8 adults, 4 kids under 6, and 2 babies). The location is just perfect, the house was impeccable, and we all fit perfectly in the house.
We spent every evening sitting on the deck and looking at the sun set in front of us. The garden before the beach was great for the kids to play and run. The trampoline was used constantly!
We used the kayaks and dingy constantly. We went out fishing with the kids several times.
The only comment I have is that the "upstairs" bedroom needs a bathroom.

This place is heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Reviewed February 19, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NZ
Reviewed January 23, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed January 1, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review. We agree it would be nice to have more than two bathrooms with a group of 12 or 13 but most houses cater for only 6-8 guests and we feel the ability and economy of 2-3 families being able to stay together may outweigh this. The outdoor shower assists during better summer weather. Thank you for looking after the house - you are welcome back anytime. We hope the unseasonable weather during your stay will not deter you from returning
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing