We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub”
Review of Honest Lawyer

Honest Lawyer
Ranked #49 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Honest Lawyer has become a Nelson icon with friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere, excellent food and unique accommodation, making it a perfect stop for locals and visitors alike.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stopped in for a few beers in the afternoon and stayed for dinner. Nice pub, friendly staff, well priced pub food and,it was good quality.

Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    112
    46
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food- two nights in a row”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great dinner on our first night in Nelson. The second night we were in another restaurant, and after reviewing the menu, my wife and I decided to go back to the Honest Lawyer. Great service and great food. Nice decor as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9seeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Attended 40th birthday bash”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We attended a colleagues 40th birthday party. We were most impressed with the venue - mock mediaeval but very well done. I was pleasantly surprised that we had a choice of 4 mains and 2 desserts. The food was good and great value for money and the staff were very helpful. I'd recommend this place for anyone having a party. We had a great time.,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great decor, strange service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What i want is pub fare: big hunk of steak, big hunk of dessert and a pint for the man. The steak was...ok. The dessert....was ok. The pint so far so good. The service borders on "please order fast as i want to go home" to "you can't order that coz the chef has gone home". The decor is great. Sitting on a corner looking at a cow-branding tool is an interesting concept especially when the staff are so blah about the customers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Location - Average Food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The gardens are a lovely place to eat in the summer and the fireplace in the winter provides a lovely ambiance. The food however lacks creativity and is just normal pub food.

Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honest Lawyer also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Honest Lawyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing