We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'As new' property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaches Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaches Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“'As new' property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Based on a 1 night stay, we can only recommend this place. It is clean, the rooms are large, light and airy(our was anyway), and all rooms have a patio or balcony. We were on the side of the hotel so there was a little road noise, although this disappeared as the traffic got lighter later in the evening. Staff were very helpful and thanks to George for helping us upstairs with our large cases. Good wifi too and walking distance to the beach and eating places/bars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for 2 nights with overseas friends in a 2 bedroom unit. Very spacious,clean and comfortable with all amenities. Helpful and courteous owners and staff. On busy main road but didn't notice too much road noise.Motel was full and a bit of "people" noise at night. Would recommend to anyone not wanting CBD.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Domaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had 9 nights in room 11. very large spacious room.A very modern place , Cleaning is a very high Would like to thank the 2 cleaners for the wonderful service we recieved.I would recommended Beaches motor Inn to everyone .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank leo587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The housekeeping staff do a great job and are very proud of their work and its shows. Look forward to your next stay. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Very large and light room, wonderful bathroom, great water pressure, better than we ever met in NZ. Friendly host, very close to the beach and lots of places to eat nearby, we opted to cook the 2 nights we were there, and the room has a great place to sit outside. Still dream of the shower, wow the water pressure.
Very dark room at night and nice and quiet to sleep. Had a great stay

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ceesbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, General Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are very pleased you enjoy your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again Management 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Got a special via Jasons Travelers. The place looks new with lovely decore and facilities, modern and very clean. Room had good heating and was warm. We had a studio and it was spacious for a studio. Room serviced daily to an excellent standard. Also near food places. The downside is that the room we had overlooked the street, and being a main road was quite noisy. Would stay again but would choose a room on the other side, not overlooking the street.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the other side, not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibrit2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased you like the motel and its facilities. Look forward to your next stay. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights on our second stay at Beaches Motor Inn. It is a realy superb place. Very modern and clean. So close to resturants, food outlets and close to the beach. Being a sports fun realy loved the Guest Select 50+ CHANNELS with 5 Sports and 2 Racing. GOOD ONE! WE SHALL BE BACK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessatyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

First, this is well outside of Nelson proper - it's in Tahunanui, nearer the airport. If you plan on spending much time in the CBD, you should consider staying in one of the many similar motels on Rutherford St., such as the Century Park Motor Lodge or the Chelsea Park Motor Lodge.

If you plan on going to Natureland Zoo, the Fun Park (hydroslide, bumper boats, go karts, etc.) or to a nice beach somewhat close to Nelson, the location is good, as it is an easy walk to those attractions as well as a handful of decent, moderately-priced restaurants (The Hot Rock, Thai Tahuna, Hell Pizza) or a couple of very good high-priced restaurants (Boat Shed Cafe, Relish).

The hotel itself is quite new, so the rooms and fixtures are very nice. No views to speak of, and it's location on a very busy road with quite a bit of noise from trucks means there are better options in the area. During my stay the hotel's router went out and I was without broadband internet access, which actually was a requirement for this particular trip. Other than that, the rooms and service were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffs92651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, General Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Beaches Motor Inn is situated in Tahunanui 5kms from City Center and same distance to the Airport. We are also a 5mins walk to Tahunanui beaches and playground. Regarding Road noise all our Rooms are Doudble Glazed and now fitted with Heavy light and Soundblock drapes accross the 4 street facing rooms.

We have the broadband problem you experienced now in hand. Thanks again. Management Beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#17 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Lodge
Aloha Lodge
#12 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Motor Inn

Property: Beaches Motor Inn
Address: 71 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nelson
#8 Business Hotel in Nelson
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Motor Inn provides 5 star quality motel accommodation close to Tahunanui Beach in Nelson.Comprising of 16 architecturally designed purpose-built luxury untis suitable for corporate travellers and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beaches Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing