We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere better for a warm, friendly stay - it's the tops!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nowhere better for a warm, friendly stay - it's the tops!”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Ambleside was our first experience of a b&b on our travels in New Zealand, and we were not quite sure what to expect. We were especially lucky to be the only two guests during our two night stay and the hospitality was fantastic. We received the warmest of welcomes and it wasn't long before Kees was taking us off to feed the eels and then later providing us with useful information on eating places. Having just two nights there we almost felt overwhelmed by the choices of things to do so asked Robyn for advice and she arranged for us to do the water taxi trip to Abel Tasman, where we enjoyed the beaches and walking too. When we got back we sat down to a lovely glass of wine and nibbles. The most important part of the visit food wise was the breakfast, where we had fresh fruit, cereals and a full English or NZ breakfast too. The fresh fruit was great, the kiwi fruits certainly taste very different in the UK, not half so sweet and the freshly poached nectarines were a real treat. We were really sorry that we were only staying two nights with two such lovely people in such a comfortable setting.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
saltash
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed with Robyn and Kees the owners of Ambleside for 3 nights. We were the only guests staying at the time. They were such lovely people, warm and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautiful, and very spacious with its own ensuite. Breakfast was served outside each morning and every type of fresh fruit was on offer! he cooked breakfast was extremely filling and delicious.
We had a lovely time there and would like to return if we visit Nelson again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Outstanding hospitality and attention to detail. Generosity and first-class service evident everywhere. Could not recommend this accomodation highly enough - the best we have ever experienced. Lovely room with everything provided. Great breakfasts. In short, you couldn't go past this one!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChucklesHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed with Robyn and Kees for three nights, the rooms were immaculate,choice of breakfast fantastic and advice and hospitality was very comprehensive.
I would recommend this accommodation very highly, Robyn and Kees did all they possibly could yo help us enjoy our stay, they made sure that the guests came "first". Thanks

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.0 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#3 of 55 in Nelson
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 237 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Luxury Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located on SH6, minutes from the airport (although not under the flight path), close to the Nelson Golf course and Tahunanui, our beautiful safe swimming beach, fabulous restaurants, a few minutes to the CBD, and only 45 minutes drive to the stunning Abel Tasman Park.Ambleside B&B is a purpose-built B&B, built in 2003, and in keeping with the character of the 1936 bungalow. The guest wing is located at the rear of the property and provides a peaceful and quiet ambience. FREE FAST WIRELESS INTERNET is available everywhere on the property. Guests have own carpark, own entrance and each of the FOUR GUEST ROOMS has its own ensuite bathroom, one with a large bathroom with disabled facilities. All luxury amenities, beautiful linens and toiletries are provided.The guest lounge provides a relaxing place to check emails, plan activities and itineraries from the extensive brochure display, watch a movie or just chat with other travellers whilst enjoying a glass of local Nelson wine. Breakfast is extra special - and we are humbled by the fact guests often note in the guest-book it is the best they have had in the country!! Choose from our extensive menu - gourmet, cooked and continental - we also provide gluten-free options and dairy free - then enjoy it in the courtyard in the surrounds of the beautiful garden alongside the stream - the gently flowing water providing an extra special ambience. Outdoor seating areas, and the spa pool provide all-day comfort for those just wanting to relax and take in the beautiful Nelson climate and scenery. Built on the level, there are no steps or stairs to negotiate, but there are still beautiful views of the hills and mountains and the sea is only 20 minutes walk away.Everything you need is here to make your stay extra special with every comfort provided to ensure your stay is typically a memorable kiwi experience. Hosts, Janine and Peter are accompanied by their little West Highland Terrier, Billie, who although loves to hang out with her guests, does not require a lap to sit on, or even a pat, but she does love to pose for your camera!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ambleside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing