We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most memorable stay in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Most memorable stay in NZ”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our short stay at Ambleside far exceeded all expectations. Robyn and Kees went above and beyond to ensure our experience at their lovely home was as comfortable as possible. The rooms were spotlessly clean and I loved the extra special touch of chocolates by the luxurious beds. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast, from Robyn's delicious homemade muesli (which I personally loved), to Kees' most wonderful cooked breakfast. They were the most welcoming and generous hosts in every way, nothing was ever too much of a trouble for them. We truly enjoyed our time there, and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to visit the area. Jessy, Greig, Lillian, Seng Hun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for this glowing review! We are very humbled by such lovely comments and it is always so nice to hear the chocolates by the bed, the home-made gluten-free muesli, and our attention to detail is appreciated. Kees's breakfasts are fast becoming famous here at Ambleside!! We do love our guests and it is always our endeavour to make each and everyone feel special. This adult family were so lovely, easy to care for and were so grateful and appreciative of all we did for them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My sister and I were lucky to experience this luxury bed and breakfast before picking up our camper van to tour the South Island. Robyn and Kees made us feel very welcome after a last minute booking and we could immediately relax knowing we'd found somewhere special. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a luxurious bathroom and high quality toiletries.
All the extra touches such as tea, cakes and wine were provided. Sadly, we didn't get to try the hot tub as the weather was a bit inclement.

The best part about staying at Ambleside is the genuine warmth and hospitality from Robyn and Kees which is not intrusive. We only stayed two nights but felt like family by the time we had to leave. They gave us some good advice for our travels and had we not stayed with them, would not have visited Pohara on the Golden Bay (which is like heaven).

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ambleside to even the fussiest traveller but please, only nice people need apply.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 638Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We were so blessed to have these two lovely ladies to stay! We did so enjoy getting to know them a little and were sad to see them go! It is people like these that make our job so easy and delightful and because we love sharing the top spots of our country to visit (there will be an itinerary planner/guide book one of these days), it was great being able to help them plan their journey. The "inclement" weather, we are pleased to report has departed, although Autumn is beginning to spread her cloak, so cool mornings and evenings in Nelson, but the days are still hot and beautiful. Just a note: if you are self-planning your vacation in Nelson, please talk to us, we would love to help you with your itinerary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Ambleside was one of the best places we stayed on our road trip around New Zealand. Robyn and Kees were the most wonderful hosts and could not do enough for us. There were so many wonderful touches we would not have expected, eg: tea and cakes when we arrived, the hot tub, a glass of wine in the evening and many more. We would recommend every visitor to stay here. If you don't you will not know what you have missed!
Gill and Brian UK

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review! Always delighted to know our guests have enjoyed their experience staying with us here at Ambleside. Now that summer has decided to stay, the guests are enjoying their Nelson holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were so lucky to stay here for 6 nights on our honeymoon roadtrip around the South Island - it was hands down the most wonderful place we stayed.

Kees cooks the most fabulous breakfasts you can imagine, and we really looked forward to these every morning.

Robyn is an absolute sweetheart and made sure we were absolutely pampered the entire time we were there. They made sure we knew what we were doing and where we were going, so no time was wasted, and when we took some time out to relax in their lovely garden and jacuzzi we enjoyed that too.

Our bedroom was lovely, really comfy bed and superb bedlinen (I really notice these things) and Robyn and Kees pay such attention to detail. We really missed staying here once we left, it really is such a special place - I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toscabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
This couple were absolutely delightful and a real joy to have stay! It is always fun to decorate the room a bit extra specially with hearts and rose petals etc...
We are fairly passionate about our beautiful region of Nelson, so always happy to recommend the must see and do places and to ensure all guests get the very best from their stay with us.
Great to see the Jacuzzi being used and sunny days ensures lots of relaxation in the courtyard.
Thank you for a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've stayed in many bed & breakfasts, Ambleside is one that we will remember as being very special. Robyn and Kees are superb hosts, nothing is too much trouble. As soon as we arrived we were offered tea and home made cakes in the garden, our room was immaculate. The continental breakfast was excellent - cereal, home made muesli, numerous fresh fruits, yogurt, bread and pastries. One morning my husband was tempted by the cooked breakfast which was also excellent. Robyn and Kees recommended really good restaurants and the Abel Tasman National Park boat trip and walk which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and that we have cared for them to the best of our ability. Makes hosting a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
758 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Robyn and Kees were wonderful hosts from the moment we arrived with presenting us with a welcome cup of tea and a glass of water and cakes, helping us to find a nearby place to eat dinner, providing a very comfortable room, and preparing a super breakfast until our departure. They do have a cat but they keep it out of the bedrooms. I had no allergy problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review! Always our pleasure to host lovely people.
Our cat, Chelsea, a Maine Coon and very spoilt, is just about to have her 13th birthday! She has also been recently diagnosed with cancer, so she is being a little more pampered these days. She is not a lap-cat, but does love to hang out with our guests. If guests do have allergy problems I am more than happy to do extra vacuuming, and ensure Chelsea does not go into the guest area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have never stayed at such a helpful friendly B and B. Robyn and Kees treated us like family spoiling us with little treats, welcoming us home with hot tea and homemade goodies and sharing their enthusiasm for the Nelson area with us and booking wonderful experiences for us. Nothing was too much trouble. They were the perfect hosts who will count among our friends for a long time to come. We cannot recommend this B and B highly enough. Julie and Peter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
This delightful couple were such a pleasure to host! We enjoyed their company very much and it is people like these who make our job so easy... Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
We are passionate about our lovely region - the beautiful Abel Tasman Park, the gorgeous beaches, world famous World of WearableArt and Classic car Exhibition Centre, myriad wineries, cafes and craft brewers, our own beautiful lakes district and our lovely town with its pretty hanging baskets. Tahunanui Beach is safe for swimming and is just down the road from us As they say it is all here, all year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.0 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#3 of 55 in Nelson
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 237 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Luxury Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located on SH6, minutes from the airport (although not under the flight path), close to the Nelson Golf course and Tahunanui, our beautiful safe swimming beach, fabulous restaurants, a few minutes to the CBD, and only 45 minutes drive to the stunning Abel Tasman Park.Ambleside B&B is a purpose-built B&B, built in 2003, and in keeping with the character of the 1936 bungalow. The guest wing is located at the rear of the property and provides a peaceful and quiet ambience. FREE FAST WIRELESS INTERNET is available everywhere on the property. Guests have own carpark, own entrance and each of the FOUR GUEST ROOMS has its own ensuite bathroom, one with a large bathroom with disabled facilities. All luxury amenities, beautiful linens and toiletries are provided.The guest lounge provides a relaxing place to check emails, plan activities and itineraries from the extensive brochure display, watch a movie or just chat with other travellers whilst enjoying a glass of local Nelson wine. Breakfast is extra special - and we are humbled by the fact guests often note in the guest-book it is the best they have had in the country!! Choose from our extensive menu - gourmet, cooked and continental - we also provide gluten-free options and dairy free - then enjoy it in the courtyard in the surrounds of the beautiful garden alongside the stream - the gently flowing water providing an extra special ambience. Outdoor seating areas, and the spa pool provide all-day comfort for those just wanting to relax and take in the beautiful Nelson climate and scenery. Built on the level, there are no steps or stairs to negotiate, but there are still beautiful views of the hills and mountains and the sea is only 20 minutes walk away.Everything you need is here to make your stay extra special with every comfort provided to ensure your stay is typically a memorable kiwi experience. Hosts, Janine and Peter are accompanied by their little West Highland Terrier, Billie, who although loves to hang out with her guests, does not require a lap to sit on, or even a pat, but she does love to pose for your camera!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ambleside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing