We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury to the max!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent 4 delightful nights at Ambleside and were thoroughly spoiled by Robyn and Kees. Nothing was too much trouble and every comfort was thought of in advance. Everything you've read in the other reviews is true, including the hospitality, delicious breakfasts and baked goodies, and just the relaxed ambience of the place. Robyn spent time helping us choose local spots of interest to visit and both she and Kees certainly fulfilled their charter of providing stimulating conversation. It was the most enjoyable way to end our NZ holiday and we cannot recommend Ambleside B & B highly enough. Jenni and Mike, Perth

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms and all of them were beautifully presented. At the back, you are treated to the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Guests like this beautiful couple make our job so easy! We love being able to help our valued guests get the most from their stay. And it is always our pleasure to host such lovely people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed with Robyn, Kees and Chelsea the cat for three nights on our recent five week tour of NZ. There welcome and the hospitality they showed us while we were with them was second to none. Our room was most comfortable, spotlessly clean, the breakfasts delicious and the guest longe and excellent place to meet and chat with other guests and our hosts. Their knowledge of what to do and where to go in the Nelson area was excellent. When we return to NZ ( as we hope to do), if Robyn and Kees are still at Ambleside we shall be there. Thank you so very much for helping to make our trip so good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_and_Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We do enjoy helping our guests to get the most from their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just recently returned from 2 months touring throughout New Zealand and are so pleased that we pre-booked the Cream Room at Ambleside for our 3 nights in Nelson area. We do believe we could not have chosen better anywhere esle in the region. Robyn & Kees could not have been more helpful - during our pre-booking process 6 months previously with lots of good advice - then - when we arrived - lots more very helpful advice/directions. Thoroughly recommended. Oh, and the breakfasts are just sumptious......

Room Tip: Explain to hosts what you are looking for and how much luggage yopu will have and take their advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you. We do find our guests do not always have enough information about our beautiful region to ensure they get the most from their stay. Therefore we have made it our business to not only have done extensive research of our area, but also to have visited all the beautiful attractions and scenic places to be able to give first-hand knowledge. The Nelson-Tasman district region covers a large area and so there is much to see and do here - from the pretty city centre with the beautiful floral hanging baskets to the Spit at Cape Farewell and the myriad wineries, golden beaches, plus art and craft and unique markets and rural cafes. There is something for everyone here and our B&B is well located to access the sights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Robyn & Kees are top class in their hospitality for guests! They are not only welcoming but also very knowledgeable about worthwhile restaurants, attractions, golf courses and sights to see. Robyn has put together a stellar compendium of important information of services they provide and/or emergency services as well as listing the sustainable aspects that are used in this B & B......Every detail was perfect including the plush white robes and lovely Linden Leaves creams & shampoos etc in the bathroom. The room was immaculately clean & beautifully decorated. There were also nice private areas for guests to enjoy both inside and outside the house. They offer an amazingly delicious breakfast prepared daily by Kees. The blueberry pancakes were sumptuous and we enjoyed the fresh cooked fruit! They work together perfectly to make it a memorable experience for their guests. Another added attraction is the short distance to the airport if needed.....if you stay in Nelson, this B & B is a must to go to! Thanx for a great stay, Robyn and Kees!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

WOW! We are so very blessed with our lovely guest's comments! We do try to do our very best for these lovely people, so it is a great privilege to hear these encouraging words. Thank you so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don’t hesitate to book this excellent B&B. Robyn and Rees are very welcoming and work hard to ensure that their guests really enjoy their stay. We stayed in the cream room, which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and attractively furnished. There is a guest lounge where you can make drinks and help yourself to snacks and sweets. The breakfasts are a real treat. There is a good choice of fresh fruit, cereal etc, but the highlights are delicious and very substantial cooked breakfasts. If the weather is warm, guests eat at a round table in the garden. If other guests are eating at the same time, you eat at the same table. We enjoyed meeting other travellers this way and also in the evenings in the guest lounge. Robyn and Rees will help you to make the most of your visit with helpful advice. When she knew that we were catching the 2.30 ferry from Wellington and wouldn’t be in Nelson until 8 o’clock on Saturday evening, Robyn checked the type of food we liked and made a dinner reservation for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Kees prides himself on his breakfast cooking ability! We try to make our breakfasts our point of difference and always like to ensure our guests have enough to eat to keep them going all day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Robyn and Kees provide a beautiful and immaculate B&B. We really appreciated their warm and friendly hospitality not to mention the home baked afternoon teas and pre dinner drinks. Breakfasts were wonderful too. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a lovely quiet spot to stay close to some great restaurants on the water, the airport and the fantastic WOW museum.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melb1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for the very kind words! Great to know our Gluten-free baking is being well received. We are always striving to provide a wonderful experience for the discerning traveller, so it is encouraging to hear we are going some way towards achieving this goal. Thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

One could not ask for a nicer B & B than this one at Ambleside.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed we were made to feel very special guests.
Both Robyn and Kees go "above and beyond the call of duty" to ensure that each and every person is attended to and their needs met.
Breakfast in the garden can only be described as a 'gourmet' meal in itself.
On checking out we were presented with a personalised bill including a photo of our bedroom as well as a notepad and pen. Nowhere else that I have ever stayed has gone to such detail. These little touches make one feel valued.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 rooms are excellent so don't worry about a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pony05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very humbled by the fact that people are so touched by our hospitality. It is always encouraging to hear that we are getting things right as that is forever the goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
688 reviews
2.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
3 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 237 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $107 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Luxury Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located on SH6, minutes from the airport (although not under the flight path), close to the Nelson Golf course and Tahunanui, our beautiful safe swimming beach, fabulous restaurants, a few minutes to the CBD, and only 45 minutes drive to the stunning Abel Tasman Park.Ambleside B&B is a purpose-built B&B, built in 2003, and in keeping with the character of the 1936 bungalow. The guest wing is located at the rear of the property and provides a peaceful and quiet ambience. FREE FAST WIRELESS INTERNET is available everywhere on the property. Guests have own carpark, own entrance and each of the FOUR GUEST ROOMS has its own ensuite bathroom, one with a large bathroom with disabled facilities. All luxury amenities, beautiful linens and toiletries are provided.The guest lounge provides a relaxing place to check emails, plan activities and itineraries from the extensive brochure display, watch a movie or just chat with other travellers whilst enjoying a glass of local Nelson wine. Breakfast is extra special - and we are humbled by the fact guests often note in the guest-book it is the best they have had in the country!! Choose from our extensive menu - gourmet, cooked and continental - we also provide gluten-free options and dairy free - then enjoy it in the courtyard in the surrounds of the beautiful garden alongside the stream - the gently flowing water providing an extra special ambience. Outdoor seating areas, and the spa pool provide all-day comfort for those just wanting to relax and take in the beautiful Nelson climate and scenery. Built on the level, there are no steps or stairs to negotiate, but there are still beautiful views of the hills and mountains and the sea is only 20 minutes walk away.Everything you need is here to make your stay extra special with every comfort provided to ensure your stay is typically a memorable kiwi experience. Hosts, Janine and Peter are accompanied by their little West Highland Terrier, Billie, who although loves to hang out with her guests, does not require a lap to sit on, or even a pat, but she does love to pose for your camera!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambleside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing