We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Attention to Detail!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Attention to Detail!"”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a find!
We stayed with Robyn and Kees for 4 nights and from the moment we arrived, we knew we had stumbled upon something quite special! The location was extremely convenient and "Ambleside" truly exceeded expectations on both presentation and quality accommodation.
We thoroughly enjoyed the company and conversation. After trekking the football fields all day at a National Tournament, to return to "Ambleside" was the perfect sanctuary for us. The living area was a real bonus and the Breakfast was second to none! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sognoCortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the amazing reveiw! Here at Ambleside this is the essence of what we are endeavouring to achieve so it is very humbling and at the same time most encouraging to hear we are achieving our goals somewhat. Always room for improvement though!
We do so appreciate our lovely guests such as these, as they make hosting so rewarding and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Back again to wonderful Ambleside. Welcomed with a cup of tea and muffin. Went to meeting and out to dinner and then sat up companionably watching Mark Todd and the NZ team get a bronze medal with Robyn. Brilliant breakfast cooked by Kees. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatharineFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

After a botched reservation at another B & B, this wonderful establishment was more than happy to have us as guests and it genuinely showed from the time we arrived up the driveway. We were greeted by wonderful hosts that truly seemed empathetic with our situation and did their best to ensure we settled in and forgot about the situation.

Although the rooms are on the smallish side, every single detail was impeccably taken care of and if we found it wasn't, we got the feeling it would be immediately if we asked. The rooms are at the back of the house and thus very quiet at night. The breakfast in the morning included everything you could think of and more, much of it homemade and as fresh as could be. We couldn't have been treated any better and we thank the owners of the botched B and B for going on vacation!

Thank you for being such gracious and considerate hosts. We're just fortunate you had room when we needed it most.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed with Robyn and Kees for 2 nights in March having read good reports on Trip Advisor which didn't disappoint- after a warm welcome with coffee and cakes, we settled into our very comfortable room and very nice large bathroom. There is a homely siting room with everything you could need and more. Nothing too much trouble! a glass of wine or beer just when you need it offered together with a plate of lovely nibbles-and to top it all an amazing breakfast! For dinner one does need to get into the car but Nelson is so close, with other restauarants along the road a bit Thank you both very much- enjoyed meeting you. If we are back in Nelson we shall see you again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanburyCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and very kind comments. Wonderful to receive positive feedback to help us ensure we are doing a great job!
There are lovely restaurants to eat at just 20 minutes walk down the road, so you don't really have to get in the car if you don't want to, and the lovely new NBus stops right outside our home so no problems to get to town if you don't wish to use the car.
Kees is also willing to help out with a ride to the Waterfront restaurants and then it is only a short taxi-ride home again. One only needs to ask and we are only too willing to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I chose Ambleside on the internet because it was near a community dinner I was going to. What a choice! Kees and Robyn are so friendly, thoughtful and considerate. I stayed again this week because they looked after me so well. Picked me up from the airport, coffee and cake for a tired traveller, comfortable bed and brilliant cooked breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatharineFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful and kind comments! Always appreciate positive feed-back and this delightful guest was so lovely it was all our pleasure to do our very best for her. Nothing is too much trouble to ensure our guests have a wonderful and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

In February 2012 we travelled from Vancouver, Canada to New Zealand for a 4 week vacation. Nelson was our second stop on the South Island, and we stayed at Ambleside B & B for a total of 3 nights. What a fantastic experience - 5-star treatment from the pick-up at the airport to the last breakfast in the lovely garden!! Robyn and Kees are warm, friendly people and perfect hosts. The breakfasts were exceptional, and all the fruit is from the garden. All their recommendations of what to see and do in the region were very useful.

We highly recommend this B & B. It is a welcoming place and so much more than a place to stay and eat - it is an opportunity to meet two remarkable people (Robyn and Kees).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Hosting is such a pleasure when we have such lovely guests such as these. it is our absolute pleasure to be able to do everything possible to make the stay a memorable one. Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Relatively expensive for a B&B, but Kees and Robyn go all out to make it well worth the price. I was given the "Lavender Room", and it was very comfortable (and beautifully colour-coordinated!). All rooms have en suite bathrooms, all very clean and well appointed. There's a guest lounge, where everyone tends to gather in the evening for some interesting and lively conversation - with the hosts joining in. Tea, coffee and snacks and fruit are always available, and you are offered beer and wine. Breakfast is served outside in warm weather, at one large table with a 'lazy susan' so everyone can help themselves. And what a breakfast! Robyn asks you in the evening what you'd like the next day. There's everything you could think of, all beautifully cooked, including Kees's home-made blueberry pancakes, and his pastries.
The best thing about it all is the warmth with which Kees and Robyn welcome you, and they're full of suggestions about where to go and what to do. The result is a very friendly atmosphere.
I hope to come again and I'll stay longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.0 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#3 of 55 in Nelson
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 237 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Luxury Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located on SH6, minutes from the airport (although not under the flight path), close to the Nelson Golf course and Tahunanui, our beautiful safe swimming beach, fabulous restaurants, a few minutes to the CBD, and only 45 minutes drive to the stunning Abel Tasman Park.Ambleside B&B is a purpose-built B&B, built in 2003, and in keeping with the character of the 1936 bungalow. The guest wing is located at the rear of the property and provides a peaceful and quiet ambience. FREE FAST WIRELESS INTERNET is available everywhere on the property. Guests have own carpark, own entrance and each of the FOUR GUEST ROOMS has its own ensuite bathroom, one with a large bathroom with disabled facilities. All luxury amenities, beautiful linens and toiletries are provided.The guest lounge provides a relaxing place to check emails, plan activities and itineraries from the extensive brochure display, watch a movie or just chat with other travellers whilst enjoying a glass of local Nelson wine. Breakfast is extra special - and we are humbled by the fact guests often note in the guest-book it is the best they have had in the country!! Choose from our extensive menu - gourmet, cooked and continental - we also provide gluten-free options and dairy free - then enjoy it in the courtyard in the surrounds of the beautiful garden alongside the stream - the gently flowing water providing an extra special ambience. Outdoor seating areas, and the spa pool provide all-day comfort for those just wanting to relax and take in the beautiful Nelson climate and scenery. Built on the level, there are no steps or stairs to negotiate, but there are still beautiful views of the hills and mountains and the sea is only 20 minutes walk away.Everything you need is here to make your stay extra special with every comfort provided to ensure your stay is typically a memorable kiwi experience. Hosts, Janine and Peter are accompanied by their little West Highland Terrier, Billie, who although loves to hang out with her guests, does not require a lap to sit on, or even a pat, but she does love to pose for your camera!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ambleside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing