We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Verdict Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #139 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great venue and service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

A big group of us booked the day before. Can recommend for good value, good service, good food. Staff friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nels0n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Delicious Steak and Faultless Service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived to find our table for 14 set up in the attractive courtyard outside. However the weather cooled so we requested a move and we were soon cheerfully reseated indoors.

We got our drinks at the bar and the food orders arrived promptly soon afterwards. Usually in any large booking an order ends up wrong, however the service here was faultless and always with a smile.

I had steak, chips and salad and the other meals all looked wonderful as well - all fresh and delicious.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WLnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Staff were average, drinks were forgotten, food was ok. Hate the idea of a television in dining area. Wont be returning there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would never go back,disappointment!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a grab one voucher had to book weeks in advance for them to let us use it,when my husband and I arrived the place was empty but we were seated right against the wall next to the closet/cupboard so my husband had to wait for them to come out to take a seat,we asked to b moved as no one else was there. (There was no other customers the entire time we were there so that must mean something on a Friday night.)
Drinks were average I had a Midori and juice but was mainly juice.
My husband got the burger which was ok,I had the filo with wedges,filo was dry and flavorless and my wedges were like eating a mouthful of salt,most of my food was left on plate.
We will never go back!!
Service is very poor
When asked if we enjoyed our meal and we replied not particularly they don't even ask as to why you didnt enjoy it

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MzDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Big Dissappointment”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Initial service was poor and had to ask to get drinks and place meal order, meat okay but old vegetables and poorly cooked, comments made to staff but no offer of retribution, boss would not even make the effort to come out and gave the waiter his card for us to call, absolutely appalling customer service!! We will not be coming here again even with a Grab-one voucher!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verdict Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Verdict Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing