We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly Good”

The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #15 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We dined here as was walking distance from our motel. Staff were excellent & asked if we wanted to sit in or outside. There was a rather large bus load of customers inside, so we sat outside where it was a little quieter. Pity the tide was out, but still a lovely spot. Only downside was the bugs, maybe sandflies, that decided to make a meal out of us, tho we've been used to the little buggers after a few weks in NZ. We only shared a Chilli & Cheese bread for entree & it was awesome. Hubby had the lamb shanks which were nice, were supposed to come with red cabbage, carrots & breaded cauli. They'd run out of cauli, so this was replaced with beetroot, which tasted like tinned beetroot that had been warmed up (maybe I'm wrong). I had the trio of seafood, scallops & fish were lovely, but the prawns were obviously the frozen ones that come in a bag & they were tasteless. The chilli sauce on them tasted like the bottle variety. The staff are very friendly & helpful, all in all a good night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Witch1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the TIdes Restaurant and its great to hear that you thought highly of our staff and the location. I will discuss your comments with the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager, as all feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    74
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely dining room overlooking the river and great food as well.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had cocktails outside overlooking the river as the sun started to set - wonderful then moved into the dining room for our meal. We were sat at a table next to the window so we could see night fall and the lights of Nelson come on and be reflected in the river water as the tide rose. The food was 1st rate and our waitress excellent. The lighting could have been dimmed a little to create more intimate surroundings but we were there on a week night and there were a lot of business people in the dining room so maybe it was well lit for them?? Will definitely return, maybe on a weekend to see if the lights are dimmed......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on The Tides Restaurant & Bar. I'm very glad you enjoyed your delicious meals and our stunning location on the riverside. I will pass your comments about the lighting on to the restaurant manager so that the mood is more intimate on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Service, Excellent Appertiser, Main a letdown”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The service here was really good, the view was okay.

They served a complimentary appertiser which was amazing! Unfortunately the main was a let down. I ordered fish of the day because I thought being so close to the sea it would be great but it was tasteless I've had better fish in chips in Wellington from the local fish and chip store for $4 a piece as opposed to $39. The waitress confirmed that the potato of the day was scallop which sounded really nice (the card they give you with the specials also stated scallop potatoes) but unfortunately it came out with mashed potato. Overall was a bit disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EchoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you taking the time to place a review, as all feedback is very important to us. I would like to sincerely apologise that your meal was not up to our usual standard. I will be discussing this with our head chef as a matter of urgency.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
345 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting, excellent service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had dinner there twice last week. Although this place serves a lot of larger tourist and conference groups we were happily surprised. To begin with the very friendly and effective staff. There is an excellent choice of dishes on the menu. Food was excellent, given this type of restaurant, nice setting at the river waterfront, textile tablecloth and napkins, perfect, what a difference compared to the bare tables and paper napkins mostly elsewhere.
Nearly forgot to mention the superb desserts ! Here is a very skilled chef-patissier at work!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Tides Restaurant. I've very glad to hear you enjoyed the quality riverside dining we offer, plus our scrumptious desserts! I hope we will see you again.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere city
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Good food. Great spot by the river (when the tide's in). Excellent service. I had the roast of the day which was a ham roast, quite well presented and very tasty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Tides Restaurant & Bar at Trailways Hotel, Nelson. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your meal beside the Maitai River. We look forward to providing you with high quality dining again in the future.
Regards
Sara Richards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing