We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Excellent Appertiser, Main a letdown”

The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #17 of 180 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The service here was really good, the view was okay.

They served a complimentary appertiser which was amazing! Unfortunately the main was a let down. I ordered fish of the day because I thought being so close to the sea it would be great but it was tasteless I've had better fish in chips in Wellington from the local fish and chip store for $4 a piece as opposed to $39. The waitress confirmed that the potato of the day was scallop which sounded really nice (the card they give you with the specials also stated scallop potatoes) but unfortunately it came out with mashed potato. Overall was a bit disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EchoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you taking the time to place a review, as all feedback is very important to us. I would like to sincerely apologise that your meal was not up to our usual standard. I will be discussing this with our head chef as a matter of urgency.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 264 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had dinner there twice last week. Although this place serves a lot of larger tourist and conference groups we were happily surprised. To begin with the very friendly and effective staff. There is an excellent choice of dishes on the menu. Food was excellent, given this type of restaurant, nice setting at the river waterfront, textile tablecloth and napkins, perfect, what a difference compared to the bare tables and paper napkins mostly elsewhere.
Nearly forgot to mention the superb desserts ! Here is a very skilled chef-patissier at work!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Tides Restaurant. I've very glad to hear you enjoyed the quality riverside dining we offer, plus our scrumptious desserts! I hope we will see you again.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Good food. Great spot by the river (when the tide's in). Excellent service. I had the roast of the day which was a ham roast, quite well presented and very tasty.

Thank KKKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for reviewing The Tides Restaurant & Bar at Trailways Hotel, Nelson. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your meal beside the Maitai River. We look forward to providing you with high quality dining again in the future.
Regards
Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Choice of a 2 or 3 course set menu is excellent value. Staff are very friendly & courteous & service was good. Appreciated the complimentary "starter"

Thank JayannMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Tides Restaurant & Bar. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our set menus, which are very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Sara Richards
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The food was really great. We had a set menu and the choices were varied. Steak was fantastic, and the cheesecake was to die for. I would recommend eating here. We ate in a group and were well looked after.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant "The Tides".
I'm pleased to read you were looked after so well and enjoyed our popular set menu. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Tides in the near future.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing