We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for tasty lunch”
Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #17 of 193 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Having just arrived in Nelson we needed a good cafe for some coffee and food. Had an amazing plowmans lunch, it was huge with plenty of fresh good quality food. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rhyacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 412 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stumbled on this quite by chance. It didnt look like a cafe and if i had been coming the other way may have ended up at the well known " coffee chain cafe" behind it. The food was very tasty and well worth the wait. The coffee was excellent and the service superb. The only negative would be the shape of the dining area which had too many tables that were either too large or too small. The great service and tasty food means ill be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

G and I wandering around Nelson - came across Morrison St Cafe - popped in at random for something to eat - really good food - pleasant staff - had a wee wait but they were very busy - can recommend the Moroccan Beef & Carrot Tagine! G had the MArinated Lamb and loved it - Great coffee and Chai Latte too, Cheers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JB-Wine-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a quick lunch for one .. Busy place but got a table, seafood pad Thai was very tasty, good service............

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank southislander019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

That's great to hear.
The Pad Thai is one of our most popular dishes - it never comes off the menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good cafe for breakfast, very yummy food. The waitress got our coffee order wrong after explaining what we would like 4 times. Other then that it was great!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 969MelissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks for your review Melissa. It's good to hear you enjoyed breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing