We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great coffee!”
Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #19 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great coffee!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Yummy food! Attentive service! Convenient location! I was under time pressure on my visit and staff went out of their way to accommodate me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Pleased to hear you were served well here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    133
    43
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee, wonderful lovely coffee”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Super fast, friendly service. Beautiful coffee. A bit on the expensive side, but totally worth it. I was in and out of the cafe in under 10 minutes and off to my meeting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camerondotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fav cafe in nelson city”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just the best service and great food and coffee too. Has to be the best in Nelson, lovely décor and indoor outdoor flow. Excellent service here, would be happy to work in this environment its great, so friendly and positive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metherin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your review. It's always good to get nice feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bohemian type cafe”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Morrison Street Cafe is a very busy place to go. It leans to a sort of Bohemian feel. Love that the various DF and GF options given are so delicious and enjoyable. Interesting art exhibits, and their own products and recipes on sale.
Lovely to sit outside on a good day. Inside can be noisy as it does get very busy at peak times. But the food does make it worth while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Nice review, thank you.
We find lots of our customers really appreciate the GF and DF options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“An old favourite!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love Morrison Street. Staff aren't always the most helpful but this cafe has a great vibe, and is suitable for everybody (oldies, youth, mums with prams etc). I love the benches outside under the umbrellas the best with a fruit tea and giant salad

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your nice honest review Tagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing