We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Staff and Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #21 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Bristol
Level Contributor
381 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Staff and Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped here for lunch one day as we passed through Nelson. We hadn't read any reviews about this cafe but tried it because it looked good. Our first impressions were correct. Everything about this place we really liked. It was a shame we were in Nelson for such a short period as we would have liked to have gone back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi
Thanks you for your friendly review.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    128
    42
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice central location - good coffee.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had heard about Morrisons before arriving in Nelson so made it our first stop for lunch. The food was good and wholesome and the coffee hit the spot.

Service was casual and no-one was in a rush, which can certainly make a nice change from the hustle and bustle of some places.

Look forward to coming back to try more of the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodlover27264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of the better cafe's in Nelson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We ordered some pancakes and an off menu chem ex coffee, which was a pleasant surprise. The coffee was good and the pancakes were very good as well(photo included).

Prices are average, service was okay and the atmosphere was casual.

Unfortanetely There are no wifi possibilities.

All with all we had a pleasant experience at Morrison and we would come back for sure

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. The wi-fi issue is an interesting one as we have as many customers who want wi-fi as those who want the cafe to remain a tech free space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Class and verve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A buzz of the sounds of people enjoying themselves, a place to meet and take good coffee and excellent food to accompany it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Panddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your kind review. Hopefully we'll see you back here in Nelson one day for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calfiornia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a real find for us for breakfast. The Morrison poached eggs with rind less bacon was the best breakfast I had on our trip. Coffee was excellent too. Great way to start the day-I think we skipped lunch after eating here. Wish I could find something similar here at home in California.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank protravler177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing