We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #20 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I love it here! It's so nice, the staff are lovely and the food is divine! I would highly recommend it. Great menu!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We value your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    131
    42
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Morrison's is great for coffee and great wholesome food, my fav is the pad thai, bacon and eggs with hollandaise sauce,
The staff are exceptionally friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicsh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality coffee”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good coffee and excellent service in a old wooden building. It can get a bit noisy with the hard surfaces. Breakfast menu was full of good options.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi. Thanks for the kind review on TripAdvisor.
We're pleased you enjoyed your experience. Now that summer is here the terrace area makes a nice (quieter) alternative on a fine day to dining indoors. And on Wednesdays you can look out on the Farmers Market as well. It's a great environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent As Always”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have visited this cafe many times over a number of years and always find it the perfect place to hang out. The food, drinks, staff and venue cannot be faulted. We want one in London please!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank posystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Morrison St Cafe is resting on their laurels”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Morrison st café was our first stop in nelson for brunch. It looked good on the Internet and is well located downtown and next to the shopping precinct.
The moment we arrived we could see it was busy but there was a staff member ready to serve us when we got to the counter. She threw menus at us and told us to find a seat. The service from that point became a display of complete indifference from a group if young poorly trAined staff members. They all looked as though they would rather be ANYWHERE else than at a cafe serving people. The food was ok - Caesar salad - but the service lets them down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegolfnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing