We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent As Always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #21 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent As Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have visited this cafe many times over a number of years and always find it the perfect place to hang out. The food, drinks, staff and venue cannot be faulted. We want one in London please!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank posystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    124
    41
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Morrison St Cafe is resting on their laurels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Morrison st café was our first stop in nelson for brunch. It looked good on the Internet and is well located downtown and next to the shopping precinct.
The moment we arrived we could see it was busy but there was a staff member ready to serve us when we got to the counter. She threw menus at us and told us to find a seat. The service from that point became a display of complete indifference from a group if young poorly trAined staff members. They all looked as though they would rather be ANYWHERE else than at a cafe serving people. The food was ok - Caesar salad - but the service lets them down.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegolfnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Marks I thought”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

As a group we booked a table and had breakfast on a Sunday morning at this cafe. I had the Corn Fritters which came with spinach, however for me it was bacon please, no spinach. These were the nicest tastiest Corn Fritters I have had - I often find I need a nice relish with them to give them any flavour - not these ones, they were v.v.nice. 14 in our group, with only 1 dissatisfied customer I think that's very good. Staff were flat tack busy, as was the cafe, however their manner never showed anything but calm, in control, and very pleasant. Definitely is a cafe I would make a repeat visit to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie18181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renwick, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best brekky in town?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nothing too much trouble - best eggs benny I've had in ages and it included the spinach - then choice of bacon, salmon, ham or mushroom. Excellent hollandaise. Good sized portion. Kids had bagels (and half of my bacon...) the cream cheese was amazing, and the raspberry jam too. Coffee was delicious - double-shot long black hit the spot nicely. Totally and utterly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went for breakfast. Great choice, tastes and good quantities - 2 of the guys couldn't eat it all!! Coffees and teas were spot on. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing