We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent cafe in Nelson”
Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #18 of 183 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A good quality NZ cafe. Excellent range of options, the food was tasty, and the coffee was well-made albeit a dodgy Auckland roast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wellyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We eat here often when we have the time, attentive and friendly staff, huge menu options that offer more than the ordinary cafe fare. While none of our family are gluten intolerant they offer a wide variety of options for people who are. The cafe is run very well and if any errors/mix-ups occur they are remedied swiftly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NixieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review of Morrison Street Cafe. We find that, like yourself, many people enjoy our W&GF options, whether it is a preference for them or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Morrison Street is a great place to go for breakfast. You will find good coffee and teas, and a mix of sweet treats as well as full breakfast options if that is what you are looking for. The lunch menu also offers a good variety of light meals (including vegetarian and gluten free) alongside more hearty meals.

They do not take reservations at busy times so if you arrive at a peak time you may need to wait for a few minutes or share a table with others. You will find a long table inside for sharing and there is also outdoor seating available as well.

The service is usually good and friendly although sometimes you may wait a bit longer for initial service. Once you order the food arrives quickly and is always tasty and good quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank huneebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Morrison Street Cafe make the best breakfast ever, the service is excellent, the atmosphere is fantastic, the only negative thing I can think of its that soemtime its very noisy. Food comes out quite quickly, the coffee is fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Front Office Manager at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hi. Thanks for your kind review. We work hard to ensure the coffee is tops. Glad you appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Morrison Cafe is a solid reliable cafe. It has a top baker Karen Eden who understands what coffee drinkers like as sweet treats. Brunches are perfect, not too big or small - just right and very tasty. Coffee is usually spot on. Can get a wee bit noisy due to the high ceilings etc but this is usual in a busy cafe...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cyndi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Front Office Manager at Morri Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for the feedback on our wheat and gluten free options. We find a lot of people come here to enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing