We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUNCH at th lone star yay!!!”

Lone Star Cafe & Bar Nelson
Ranked #67 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The home of the Nelson Lone Star restaurant is a wonderful building that oozes Art Deco charm on the outside but contemporary luxury on the inside. There is a large bar that flows to the outdoor area. Enjoy Cocktails and beersies after work or later in the evenings. There are spacious dining sections available with our experienced and friendly staff always nearby to help you and your friends enjoy your evening with us. Children are especially welcome and have their own menu to choose from, colouring in & traffic light drinks. Don't forget to tell us if its your Birthday - we're likely to have a treat in store for you. Lone Star Nelson, our aim is to make it a "Great Time, Every Time!!!"
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“LUNCH at th lone star yay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Love the new lunch time hours an the menu is fab!!! Food is always amazing and the service fantastic, love the efficent service from the moment you walk in the door, very friendly and warm!!! Loved the choices for the lunch menu and the prices were awsomely cheap too cant wait to go back for lunch again soon. Thanks lone star keep up the great work!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great times with Great food and Great people!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I really enjoy a good sized meal with a lively, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Lone star provides a generous helping of quality food. The staff are fun and pronto with service however still give you the space for personal and uninterrupted dining. Great atmosphere for any occasion!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lucky Us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

After receiving an unexpected and very much appreciated $50.00 dining voucher in the post as part of a promotional initiative that Lone Star Nelson runs we set off for dinner.
We were most impressed by the friendly and professional service that we received. It was also noticeable to us how happy the team appeared in their work.
Our meals were delicious, being cooked exactly to our liking and also extremely generous in size (We had enough left overs to take home for our lunch the next day yum yum)
Many thanks Lone Star for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I loved the meal, the service and the menu. Especially the Lamb Salad and yoghurt and mint dressing. Keep it up guys, it works.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok but not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

So went there for a work do... my steak was well under seaso ed and the cheesecake was very average...

Helpful?
Thank Rakin666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Cafe & Bar Nelson also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Lone Star Cafe & Bar Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing