We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Ranked #28 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Arriving into Nelson for the fist time and on Valentine's Day with nothing booked, we wondered into the town and found Harry's! The staff were totally accommodating and we managed to get a booking, drinks were bought to us by very friendly table staff and during our fabulous Thai meal, the staff couldn't do anymore, a nice change. Well done to the owner of this establishment, the staff here were all excellent and worked well and with a smile at all times, service was outstanding, so was the wonderful choice and drinks on offer and food, wish I lived locally to visit again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    63
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When you're tired of heavier fare....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thai food prepared at NZ levels of heat and cleanliness. Service was excellent. Good value, good selection of drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredhead166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fashionable bar in this corner of NZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located on the cobbled streets of Trafalgar Street just before you head up the stairs to the clock tower is the bar. You walk in and you will feel like a night in a major city (the price tag will certainly deceive you into thinking you are in a major city). The cocktail list is impressive and the fusion-style cooking (hate that word but it is what it is) is pretty authentic. I had the Thai noodle salad which is close to what you can get in Thailand. From memory I think the chef spent some time in the East. His roast and braised pork Chinese style, could possible put my mom's to shame. Possibly...just dont tell mom. They make a mean cocktail here so if you get drunk easily, like i do, get them to serve your drinks in a high ball glass. Love to see how this place goes off in summer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
266 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“cafe/ bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

wine list limited but nice to see wines from the area, beer list very strong. Food ok, service ok, atmosphere - fairly standard dark wood subdued lighting. Nice outside area that catches some afternoon sun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I couldn't stop eating it was so nice, we all enjoyed our meals staff where very friendly with just the right amount of attention shown to us.
The menu catered for us all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Errolnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing