We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal”

Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #20 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bacco is the Roman God of Wine, Bacco Restaurant and Wine Bar changed its ownership and name from Café Affair in October 2016. We are a premium wine bar/restaurant with an Italian/European spin to our dishes. We are all about fresh, local ingredients where possible and we have a food matching our premium wines philosophy. Bacco has a wine club and holds Degustation dinners bi-monthly.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Went out with work mates and had a really nice meal. Service was good. Great to be able to charge back to my motel. Really good combined deal menu which was great value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    140
    46
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing meal on a chilly night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My friend and I were looking for a cosy place to share time and a meal on a chilly winters night.
We found Cafe Affair and were delighted to have seats right beside the fire.
The food was great, the service was friendly.
I had a stone grilled steak - it was delicious.
When we went to pay I bought some truffles to take back to the menfolk and I was given an extra one - ‘because when you try one you might have to have another to make sure you like it’ :-)
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
Thanks - we will be sure to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, service but cold restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, friendly staff and great service. The food was tasty and very generous in size so good value for money.
The downside to this restaurant was how cold it was inside. There was a beautiful lit fire but this was obviously heating only the couches in front of it and I couldn't see any other heating.
This is a problem that I have found in all but one restaurant in Nelson....strange.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific menu choices with creative and comfortable atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

One could easily return to the restaurant twice (as we did) during a visit to Nelson. Very pleasant atmosphere with big stone fireplace in the main dining area. Excellent service. Food was excellent. Not overly formal, but definitely above strictly casual. We noticed several apparently local business people having lunch with us. A very nice adult choice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Itivdleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Have dinned at most of the restaurants in nelson and this one is by far one of the best.

The service is always great, welcomed, shown to table and given the option to chose.
Love the stone grill as steak has to be cooked right.
Well priced and great atmosphere.
We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank kkrose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Bacco Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing