We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nelson

“Six of us rolled up one night”

Urban Oyster Bar and Eatery
Ranked #4 of 208 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Urban Oyster Bar & Eatery is Nelson's newest and most innovative dining experience. Don't be afraid to put your elbows on the table and engage us and your fellow diners. Get to know us and what's inspiring us today. We'll be delivering the things we're currently passionate about on each plate we serve. We hope you come with a curious spirit ready for the experience of what an eatery is all about. Our menu changes regularly with respect to what we are into at the moment, whether it's an ingredient, band, chef or current event. Our goal is to make everyone feel like whanau - whether it is your first or fortieth time. We believe that serving up good juju isn't just in the food and drink, but in the attitude and atmosphere which makes Urban the perfect place to stop in and refuel. Our menu is innovative and fresh .. Enjoy a freshly shucked oyster or for the more courageous crispy pigs ears! We have no reservations which applies does not apply to groups of 8 or more. Feel free to share a table with some locals, or visitors for that matter. Eating is a sharing experience!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Six of us rolled up one night last week and asked for a table for eight (2 were still coming). The owner/manager was very accommodating and asked staff to make room for us. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food options were good, with fresh oysters shucked before your eyes. Craft beer and local wines aplenty. A great night. Thanks.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank colinnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 746 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020

Very different dishes, but no oysters available at this time. Nice wine as well. Cracklings are worth trying

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank efithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

The Urban Oyster Bar has a lively, friendly vibe with excellent food. Most of the vegetables are grown by them and the farm-to-table appetizer was filled with their veggies. The fish “tacos” were a work of art and the daily “sliders” were the perfect blend of a fresh fish cake, a perfect slice of tomato and a slaw. The owner encourages folks to sit together and chat, in a lovely, non-mandatory manner - and we are glad we took up the invitation to sit with a local. All in all, a wonderful night out.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Connecticutwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

We picked on this restaurant as it had scored highly on Trip Advisor and I was intrigued about the Tapa style menu. 3 of us ordered tempura oysters, wontons, sliders with salt and pepper squid, mini hamburger and a pulled lamb dish (think).
Homemade snickers bar with ice cream for dessert.
To sum up we liked the way the way the dishes came out as they were ready (we sat at the servery watching the chefs). Everything was as ordered and very tasty. One or two had us hankering for more - the squid was spot on.
All in all a great experience with the lively atmosphere and friendly staff adding to the happy vibe we felt. We will be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AndyTheChef2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We enjoyed a $50pp set menu, all the course's were amazing and so much food and wine or a beer included made this meal excellent value. First course was Oysters which I do not like but hubby loves them I was offered a couple of delicous alternatives.
Service was excellent, we could not find fault with anything at this restaurant and hope to return again very soon.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Oyster Bar and Eatery also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Urban Oyster Bar and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing