We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Centre of New Zealand
from $34.42
More Info
from $716.43
More Info
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveler rating
464
349
52
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
464
349
52
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep walk worth the climb new zealand great walk well worth the effort takes about minutes degree view awesome views botanical reserve nelson bay visiting nelson hill track nz monument kauri reward
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 869 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Did this walk on a very sunny and clear spring day. Was a lot steeper then we thought and our youngest (4 yr) only made it 2/3 of the way - which was a good effort. You certainly get a sweat on. The view is definitely worth, took a lot of photos. Walk down was a lot easier. Not recommended for those without a basic level of fitness.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank peterwI3040OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Easy walk from a botanical reserve (apparently field that held the first rugby match in NZ - it is claimed) near Nelson, South Island. We had an outstanding view of the valley and shoreline (although it was foggy and overcast). Hike was easy even for us over 60 year olds. Recommend it to be able to say you been in the Centre of NZ - although there is some rumors that it is really not in the exact centre, but any way it was a fun hike - roundtrip - 60 90 minutes depending on skill.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Closer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Before I walked up the Centre of NZ I looked up how long it should take. If you allow 30-60 minutes for a round trip depending on your fitness level you'll be okay. It is steep in parts so it is not suitable for people with mobility problems.
Once you get to the top the views on a good day are wonderful.
Any solid so sport shoes are suitable in winter and sandals in summer would be fine.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank TirelessWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

While taking the opportunity to explore Nelson, my host directed me to the Centre of New Zealand. If you live in the hills in Nelson, you can enjoy the many beautiful views out to the Tasman Sea from your window. But if you do not, hiking to the Centre is the next best thing.

I started my trek late in the afternoon and was expecting a leisurely 30 minute walk. The entrance to the trail is known by the locals but can be a bit of a challenge for tourists. If in doubt, ask folks in the area as you get close to the park. They were happy to help me on my way.

The trail is a bit steep at times and even though I had been walking and running regularly - I could tell I was in for a workout. As you proceed up the trail you will come to points where you can choose different trails. One leads to a sports area and the other to a garden.

There are some flat sections of the trail where you can stop and catch your breath. You will also encounter a narrow footbridge which was only a minor issue when I was moving aside for some hearty souls that were jogging the trail.

When I finally made it to the top I was not disappointed, Great views out to the Tasman Sea and into the Maitai Valley. As I was enjoying the view the sun began to head down, which while it can make for a lovely image, can present a problem as there are no lights on the trails and the trees can shroud the area in darkness fairly quick.

While the top of the trail is not technically the centre of New Zealand, as you stand tall looking out over the sea and the town, you probably will not care.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank baileygracerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Follow the signs and well-graded track through trees and shrubs to the lookout point with interpretation panels and dial.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank RossC1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews