We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Parautane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parautane Lodge
Ranked #22 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Short Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sadly we could only stay for 2 nights but those 2 nights were amazing.The Harris Suite was lovely and the views are breath taking.Only a short drive to Nelson where the choice of restaurant dining is amazing,would recomment "When in Rome" restaurant and "The Anchor"restaurant..Breakfasts at the Lodge were fantastic...cant wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spot5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

From the first welcome cuppa and cookies we found friendly hospitality and attention to our needs. I chose omelets for breakfast, but there was plenty of choice. The views were expansive and stunning sunsets gave us camera- perfect shots. Alan and the team, you were great! We needed this time of relaxation, but there's plenty to do within an hours drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyredwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Luxurious well appointed rooms with direct access to deck giving splendid views over the bay. We were very well looked after by our hosts. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who is prepared to endure some difficulty in driving the last 1.5kms. It is worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you enjoy friendly hosts, superb home-style cooking, luxurious well appointed rooms and stupendous views across the bay to distant mountains then look no further than Parautane Lodge, just a ten minute drive out of Nelson. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights and really appreciated the kind hospitality of Alan and Candace who fed us splendidly and even smiled at my corny jokes. The view from the deck is spectacular and don't miss the outdoor spa at night for a special treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a wonderful break away after a very hectic 2012. I wish we could have stayed longer. To be met after we arrived with freshly baked cookies and a welcoming Alan was great. Breakfast was everything you could want and more. Neither of us found the drive into Nelson any problem when we went into town for dinner and our return in the dark was also no problem. To watch the stars whilst sitting in the spa was not only romantic but very relaxing. It is a shame more B & B's don't have this level of service and quality of stay.
Our next trip to New Zealand will hopefully see us returning to this spot for another stay, longer this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forjoyforjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanagrei
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for the weekend and were absolutely blown away. The hospitality was amazing and not in-your-face. The rooms were lovely and luxurious - loved the bathroom. Everything was super clean and spacious. Superb views and lots of areas to lie in the sun and relax. Lovely breakfasts - and so much that we didn't need lunch! Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer in this beautiful lodge, faultless hospitality, don't miss the spa with the most incredible views!!! And a scrumptious breakfast. Thanks Alan and Candace, we will sure be recommending to others

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
5.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.8 mi away
A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#3 of 55 in Nelson
332 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shelbourne Villa
Shelbourne Villa
#8 of 55 in Nelson
171 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parautane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parautane Lodge

Property: Parautane Lodge
Address: 137 Parautane Way | (off Todds Bush Rd.) RD1, Nelson 7071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parautane Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Details: Bed and Breakfast Guest rooms in a private home or small hotel that includes breakfast in the price of lodging. Number of rooms: 4 Located high on a hillside above Tasman Bay, Parautane Lodge was built in 2004 in a Canadian mountain lodge style. Set in four hectares (10 acres) with panoramic views over the bay, to the western ranges beyond. Each room offers sea views and opens to decking above the ocean. Continental and cooked breakfast is served in the dining room opening on to the spacious deck. Paratuane Lodge is located 12 minutes north of Nelson City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parautane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing