We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parautane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parautane Lodge
Ranked #22 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband (Macesta) and I just spent 3 days in Nelson and I am so glad that he found Parautane Lodge. We had a lovely, relaxing stay in, for me, high luxury. While the drive up to the lodge is a bit steep the thrill of the view is well worth it. The view from the car park is amazing and does not diminish once you walk down to the lodge itself. Our room was lovely - and as my husband pointed out - Heated Floors in the bathroom! We spent our down time looking out the window at the amazing views of the ocean and mountains beyond. If it had been warmer we would have been able to sit outside on our private balcony.
The lodge is located outside of Nelson proper, but not too far away from all the attractions and restaurants. The hot tub, slightly down below the lodge itself, feels like one is a thousand kilometers away from the rest of the world. We greatly enjoyed watching the birds and the surrounding nature.
Overall - a great place. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: I think any room there would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainelysochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I used the lodge as a base to explore and enjoy the area. Every night we looked forward to returning to the lodge and enjoying sunsets from the hot tub. Some of the best views in the world. Nice rooms, but wait... heated floors in the bathroom. Grrrreat feeling. A complimentary bottle of wine sealed the deal. Will be back when we are again in Nelson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We arrived with no one at home. But we hadn't been forgotten. A polite note saying they were on airport pickup was stuck to the door with a tray of cookies waiting for us to help ourselves.

This was a good chance to explore the house, our suite and the lovely deck overlooking the sea which led down to the hot tub. So we took some wine from the fridge in our room and made our way to our very own private hot tub, in our very own private lodge ( at least for a short time!) with a view to die for. We sayed in there for quite some time.

The suite was fab, with a gorgeous bed, a seperate sitting room area and en suite bathroom. The private balcony with seating was a lovely addition.

The hosts were brilliant and recommended a restuarant that we would highly recommend called Cafe Affair in Nelson. The food was so good I compare every beef wellington I have had since to the one I had there. And not one has match it yet. My Husband had the mixed grill which comes out raw with a hot stone baked to such a temperature that you cook it like a BBQ yourself at the table- to your own liking.

Just to mention breakfast which was absolutely lovely and was extra special because of the views.

This was our first accomodation on South Island and we were not disappointed- fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

After travelling and backpacking for a few months I stayed here invited by the family and had a wonderfully relaxing welcome time. The room and facilities were very comfortable and thoughfully planned. It has a homely feel to it which is so welcome when away from your own and the family are very accomodating and the views are wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjhowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Great location, up in the clouds with marvellous views, but not easy to get in or out in the dark.
Bed looked as if it had been hastily re-made, using the previous occupants' sheets! We even found a long black hair on the pillow.
Window was covered with handprints - clearly the owners' children's.
Miniscule television set in room (why bother?).
Level of cleanliness and presentation was well below expectation.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MustafaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parautane, Manager at Parautane Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
We were unaware of this happening until reading this review. At the time of this review a cleaner was employed to service the rooms and the only explanation that can be offered is that there was a communication breakdown between cleaner and host. If the guest had complained we would have done everything possible to remedy the situation and keep them happy. Guest satisfaction is very important to us at Parautane Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in March with my our son who is 5, I am usually hesitant about B&Bs since we have a child but staying here was very seamless. Our room was removed from the others so I was not overly concerned if i was disturbing the other guests.

The lodge itself is quite special, perced on top of a hill, it is quite a drive to the top with un paved roads but after going up once, the second time is a breeze. Allan did mention that the 2nd time will be easier and it was so true.

Great breakfasts (i think i finished everything on my plate every morning!), very hospitable hosts, never intrusive. It was the view that really blew us away being so high up and facing the sea. I was quite happy to sit on our balcony and gaze out and not run around Nelson doing lots of things!

They actually have a outdoor hot tub/jacuzzi as well which I think will be great for honeymooners etc. It was rather expensive but i think it was worth it

Very recommended for a unique and special stay

  • Liked — The view, the lodge!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peonylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed at Parautane Lodge for three nights of our Honeymoon.

Alan and Candace were very welcoming. Breakfast every morning in the living room looking out over the ocean was a great way to start the day. Alan always offered us a hot breakfast, but the fresh muffins were just what we needed, The room was extremely comfortable and very large. Candance treated us in our room to baked muffins and cookies at night. Alan always was willing to help plan activities for the day.

Thanks Alan and Candace for a great visit to Nelson.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottsdaleMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
5.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
2.7 mi away
Retiro Park Lodge
Retiro Park Lodge
#5 of 55 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.8 mi away
A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parautane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parautane Lodge

Property: Parautane Lodge
Address: 137 Parautane Way | (off Todds Bush Rd.) RD1, Nelson 7071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parautane Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Details: Bed and Breakfast Guest rooms in a private home or small hotel that includes breakfast in the price of lodging. Number of rooms: 4 Located high on a hillside above Tasman Bay, Parautane Lodge was built in 2004 in a Canadian mountain lodge style. Set in four hectares (10 acres) with panoramic views over the bay, to the western ranges beyond. Each room offers sea views and opens to decking above the ocean. Continental and cooked breakfast is served in the dining room opening on to the spacious deck. Paratuane Lodge is located 12 minutes north of Nelson City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parautane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing