We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“uniquely beautiful accommodation within a tranquil garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #6 of 59 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“uniquely beautiful accommodation within a tranquil garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Really special accommodation which has been created in a way that suggests that the owner genuinely cares about the beauty and feel of the place. A lush garden with a stream and water-lily filled pond, a deck to relax on the sunshine, many windows so that the light floods in and you feel very much still in the garden when you are in the studio. The only sounds are bird-song and flowing water. Extremely comfortable bed. Beautifully furnished with wooden work surfaces, a stove, sitting area and a table to eat or work at. Well-equipt kitchenette and good bathroom. In a pleasant neighbourhood, a very short walk into central Nelson. Close to a lovely park and cafe/art gallery. An exceptionally good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beijing888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
85
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Note: Joya is not a Hotel. Joya is at a private residence and has a room, a studio, and a separate cottage for guests. Located at the top of a small hill in an upscale neighborhood and overlooking the town of Nelson, Joya feels like a cocoon of comfort and relaxation. Immediately after arriving, we wished to cancel our other plans and stay here to soak it up and relax. We stayed in the villa studio - which felt more roomy than our entire home! Expansive, lots of windows letting in natural light, a patio with sofa and chairs, a kitchen, beautiful garden - we were not left wanting at all. Paulina, the hostess, is very kind, interesting, and helpful and gauges perfectly the right level of attention to give the guest without ever intruding. The 1.2 km walk to the Trafalgar St core of town is a pleasant way to get a feel for the town.. We'd stay here again without hesitation and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Teri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the villa studio and enjoyed this lovely place (big apartment & wonderful garden). After traveling on the south island this was a very good place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Joya is a wonderful place to relax, unwind, and take in the natural beauty of the area. The house and villas are just beautiful and Paulina is helpful in every way. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nolamagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayedi in the garden studio for 2 nights. The studio is very well appointed and Pauline has thought of everything! She also provided an excellent breakfast in her house.We thought it might be too light in the morning but found we slept well despite a 5 hours time difference from W Australia. The only thing to watch are the steps between the bed area and the bathroom/living area.The garden is a delight. We were also able to access broadband via thoughtfully provided cable. If you want somewhere a bit different in Nelson- this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Angie and I couldn't have chosen a more homely place to stay....peaceful and quite delicious....I am a gardener designer, so all I wanted to do was be in the garden and listen to the water and soak up the tranquility. Thank you Paulina, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggedtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

My stay at the Joya Center was wonderful from beginning to end! I stayed in the Villa Studio for one lovely week and then returned again for another week! The gardens are inspiring - the fountain providing a magical and soothing sound to compliment the beautiful scenery. Both weeks were quiet, peace-filled, and very relaxing. The bed is amazing, with a large window overlooking the gardens, making it hard not to take an extra hour or two in the mornings for a long lay in!

Lovely Downtown Nelson is just minutes away on foot and Paulina is a wealth of information for things to do in the area. She is a very gracious host and takes great pleasure and pride in serving her guests. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to any visitor. It would be a FABULOUS place for a long-term stay because the rooms come with all of the necessary counter-top size kitchen needs to cook your own meals - two burner stove, oven, toaster, fridge, etc. etc. etc. If you're a business person or student or other traveler with longer-term housing needs in the Nelson area, this is the best place for you. You can have as much or little quiet and privacy as you want and since you can do your own cooking, you don't have to eat out - but should you want to, Paulina can direct you to the eating 'gems' in the area.

I stayed at the Joya Center both as a guest and as a 'patient' of Paulina's Listening Center - a center that uses the Tomatis Method to help heal various kinds of dis-abilities. This is the hidden (and brightest) joy in the name Joya Center. I won't go into details here, but Paulina has details about the Listening Center in all of the rooms. I encourage you to read the pamphlets. If you or anyone you care about is in need of healing, please talk to Paulina.

Should your stay at Joya be for a couple of nights or (like me) for the longer term, you won't leave feeling sorry for having stayed at Joya Center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jldNowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Property: Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing