We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine basic accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #4 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A few minutes’ walk up the hill from the commercial district of Nelson, Joya is a really basic but nice accommodation. It is an older home which has had significant renovations done by the current owner. We had a second story room, with shared bath during our two nights here. On a little balcony adjoining the room was a minifridge, pot for boiling water, and toaster oven, shared with the next door guests. The owner is the author of several books about New Zealand life, and is a transplant from the Netherlands with her two sons. She provided us a number of good recommendations about where to eat and what to see. There is a cool art gallery called Suter with a nice café not too far away; the botanical garden from 1891 or so is well kept and home to countless varieties of trees, flowers, and shrubs; it is well worth a walk through.

Breakfast went well beyond the continental variety, with our host cooking up anything we asked. She provided a lot of interesting conversation during our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Just to let you know that I value your review.
Not just with regards to joya, but on the whole. I think Tripadvisor has an interesting role to play since contributions are for as well as by travellers.
So, keep on going! :)
Just one thing about the books: there might be a bit of misunderstanding there. I do write, but not related to New Zealand.:)
Best, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 239 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had the good fortune to get the Garden Studio, which is separate from the main house and next to a tranquil pond and beautiful garden. The Garden Studio is almost like a house in and of itself with a kitchen, eating area and elevated sleeping quarter. Paulina is a doting, caring and very generous host. The breakfast must be one of the best in all New Zealand, and it is certainly also one of the healthiest! One feels very welcome and at home, and conversations with Paulina are very stimulating. Try to spend more than just one night here - it is worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellentonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Greetings,
Thank you for this kind review. I do appreciate the mention of 'an oasis' .
Considering that one is close to the heart of town, it's indeed quite special to get this sort of quiet and ambiance. i am glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your willingness to write this.\Warm regards, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved this guesthouse, the service is invisible, open doors and welcoming smiles, great, healthy breakfast and inspiring conversations around the table, with other guests but most of all with Pauline, beautiful garden and we still don't know if it was a cherry plum tree or a plum cherry!
Marita My/Nl

Room Tip: all rooms are just plain excellent, but the best and biggest is the garden studio, some rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Greetings,
Isn't it nice to "get more than one can wish for".
Much appreciated. My apologies though for responding this late.
It's been busy as you can imagine, but that still is no excuse, although I know you understand!
Warmly, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A magical corner of Nelson for travellers to rest in! The value for money of the Garden studio was fantastic - we had a modern clean room, lounge area with log burner and small but well stocked kitchen. I'll admit i thought this place was a bit of a gamble from the website details but the photos just dont do it justice. I loved the immaculate water garden the studio overlooked, the handmade chocolates on arrival and the warm welcome from the host! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome! Paulina could not have been a better hostess and we instantly felt at home here. Both the villa studio and the garden studio are beautifully laid out in quiet gardens with soothing water features. The organic breakfast was delicious with so many tasty discoveries (I now make Paulina's ginger, lemon and honey tea at home). Paulina even took us down to the bus stop early in the morning for the start of our Abel Tasman tramp and looked after one of our bags whilst we were walking. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful property and only a 5 minute walk to heart of Nelson. We stayed in the villa room upstairs. Really spacious room and a lovely balcony area to chill out. A shared bathroom but that didn't matter as it was a luxury bathroom, always available and always spotless. An organic breakfast was provided which was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel or guesthouse. Very healthy also which is a massive bonus.
Paulina (the property owner) was a fantastic hostess who always made time to chat and provide us with all the local knowledge we needed to have a great holiday in Nelson. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Don't be put off booking the villa room just because you have to share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shane1982AUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Greetings,
Better late than never...I guess you agree :) My apologies for not thanking you earlier for this really kind review. Much appreciated!
Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

For a weekend workshop in Nelson I needed some highly affordable accommodation and ended up with much more. I stayed in the Den - a charming smallish room with everything I needed and lots I didnt need but many travellers do - phone, TV, fridge, extra seating. The owner, Paulina, was very kind and accommodating. I was surprised to findout breakfast is included at such a low rate. The owner went the extra mile to cater for my complex dietary requirements (coeliac disease with salicylic acid intollerance) and it was certainly the best breakfast I've ever been able to eat at any hotel or bed and breakfast I've visited(spanning US, UK, Europe, Africa, and NZ). The garden is amazing with lotus pond pool, drawbridge, beautiful large zen style garden. Although not on a large street the owner warned me there might be traffic noise at times outside my window but I was lucky with none and travel with earplugs anyway. Part of the wooden floor in the room was a bit creaky but it seems to be above the kitchen and not bother anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuanMalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

First of all, thank you very much for this review. Most reviews regarding Joya are related to the two studios, so I am glad that you spent some time writing about the Den. And happy to have been able to serve you not only the right sort of food, but also some that was enjoyable:)
Best regards & Namaste, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $94 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing