We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful, hospitable hostess with the mostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #4 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
“Thoughtful, hospitable hostess with the mostess”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I had a lovely quiet room with plenty of sun that I much appreciated, and the house is facinating. My hostess was extremely helpful and hospitable, providing wonderful breakfasts (a couple of the healthy ideas I’ve taken home). I would definitely recommend staying at Joya and I hope to return sometime in the future. However I will try to book a time when there isn't an electrical storm happening in Nelson, not fun when you're on a hill.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin81_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
88
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We had a lovely experience and really enjoyed the knowledge that Paulina has and was able to share with us. It is a very private and comfortable location and you would never expect to get such a tranquil place so close to the center of a city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusrwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

"From our first visit to Joya we knew we had found our home away from home. Being frequent visitors to New Zealand, we are now frequent visitors to Joya in Nelson. The fully self contained Garden Studio lays nestled in amongst the loveliest garden evoking peace, tranquility and calm with its beautiful water features, flowers, a light and airy ambience, the best and most comfortable bed we have found in New Zealand, beautifully decorated and designed, along with our favorite breakfast fare. Paulina is a gem as is Joya. Joya is only a few minutes walk away from the center of town, its great restaurants, and wonderful parks. We love that we can have both a beautiful and calming environment with a feeling of being far away, and yet leave our car parked for our entire stay in Nelson because we can so easily walk everywhere. We love and appreciate the holistic care and thoughtfulness, the integrity, with which Paulina presents Joya!"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noscreenname33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed at Joya for 2 days and 2 nights. Exceeded all expectations. The large studio room had it's own private entrance behind the main house overlooking the back yard/garden with a wonderful small stream. You can see the bay and nearby mountains as the home is on a hill within walking distance to the center of town. The view is gorgeous.

The room is huge and extremely comfortable and clean with all the extras. Paulina, the owner, ensures you have everything you need and accomodates special requests. You can get an amazing breakfast for far less than what it would cost to eat out. She even went out of our way to drive us to our restaurant the second night when our car got a flat tire. She makes you feel completely at ease.

This is the perfect place to stay in a town like Nelson which is a very sunny and tranquil small town that is on the water with vineyards nearby. It was the most memorable and relaxed time I had the entire trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevepmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Lovely gardens and a very pleasant room. We left very relaxed. There is a wonderful restaurant called Hopgoods. No more expensive than most, but excellent food. Very nice park and gallery. Nelson is a lovely town, quite arty in its own way. Joya is a brilliant place to stay if you can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

What an amazing experience staying at Joya was, one we will never forget. The kindness, service, and hospitality from Paulina cannot be matched. The accommodations are extremely nice, comfortable and spacious. The views are gorgeous throughout and the location was perfect - within walking distance to town and a great jump-off point to Abel Tasman. We still talk about the wonderful breakfasts there. We can't wait to come back and relax at this special gem again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Wonderful stay. Great rooms. Delicious Breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takgeecheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Property: Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing