We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, Views, Food & Wine, Laughs... it has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wakefield Quay House
Ranked #6 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2007

This trip to New Zealand was a gift for my mother's 70th birthday. Our visit in Nelson was towards the end of our trip. I have to say that my mother and I immediately felt at home - contributed mostly by the Wakefield Quay House hosts (Woodi and Johnny) with their great dynamic personalities and style.

If you are a traveller who needs more direction with things to do or one who is adventurous on your own - both Woodi and Johnny are very adverse in the arts, water activities, restaurants, tours, etc.

Both Woodi and Johnny welcome you into their place and make you feel at home. The Wakefield Quay House rooms have great views and the property has many decks for which to view the boats or kayakers and simply enjoy a nice glass of wine with some snacks Woodi seems to manage to always throw together and enjoy the weather and views.

It is obvious the passion both Woodi and Johnny have for Nelson and the lifestyle there - so if you do not stop here for at least one night - you will be missing out!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank laynemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 222 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

It is like staying with old friends, in a beautiful house. From the tasty home-made breakfasts to sundowners on the deck watching the sail boat races.

Both Johnny and Woodi have a wealth of information on the area
and are happy to help in any way.

Our bedroom was superb.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank pammieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We were lucky enough to find Wakefield Quay in 2001. We were hot and tired and what a treat to walk onto that porch, savor the view and to be handed a glass of Sauvignon. We felt like we had come home.
Since that first visit, we have always come back to Nelson and to Woodi and Johnny. The rooms are stunning and the ambience sublime. Truly, a trip to New Zealand would not be complete without a stop at Wakefield Quay.

Sincerely,
Bud and Margi Mahoney

  • Stayed: February 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ollieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Soniaetpierre974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank weekred1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
1.5 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $248 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson Harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine or craft beer. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original New Zealand artworks. King and Queen seaview ensuite rooms, air conditioning, LED lighting, big fluffy towels, flat screen TVs, ipods and docks, USB sockets, safe and free wi-fi. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and the Nelson Lighthouse, including great sunset vistas. You can swim in the ocean right out front and stroll along the waterfront to The Boat Shed Cafe, Styx, Nahm and Harbour Light Bistro. Rates include hosted complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6pm to 7pm each evening and a delicious cooked breakfast using the best local produce. We have two cats onsite so we hope you don't have an allergy to cats! Come and kick your shoes off and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing