We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wakefield Quay House
Ranked #7 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We had a lovely view of the Tasman Sea from the verandah of our cozy and stylish room. It was Friday night and friends and sailors from Johnny's course were dropping in. We were given a glass (or several) of wine,canapes and intoduced to everybody by Woodi who also found time to direct us to the main sights of Nelson and book our excellent dinner at Harry's as well as the necessary taxi. Breakfast was good and the hospitality was great.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinnLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Wakefield Quay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2009

Absolutely magnificent. All the other reviews truly are specific and true to the hospitality and excellent quality this B&B has to offer. The owners are absolutely hilarious and extremely friendly. We felt right at home after setting foot in their lovely house. Decor was fabulous and the room was so cozy with an amazing view of the Nelson harbour, with sailboats coming through and an AMAZING sunset. Delectable cheese and fruit platter along with wine in the early evening makes it even better to have a laugh with Woodi and the other guests. What a holiday, Definitely recommended and would definitely go again! The ONLY downside: not staying long enough!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at the Wakefield Quay House toward the end of our whirlwind New Zealand tour. We couldn't have asked for better accommodations. Woodi greeted us with her great personality and immediately made us both feel at home. The decor throughout the house is beautiful and tastefully done- it feels like a 5 star hotel. The view of the Tasman Bay from our bedroom bay window was amazing-as was everything else. The afternoon wine and cheese plates were an unexpected treat. We enjoyed meeting the fellow guests in the house as well as Woodi and John's friends who came over Friday night for a lively discussion. It felt as though we had known these people forever. Would definately love to return to this B&B with my husband!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pulchritude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed at Wakefield Quay house for a couple of nights whilst travelling round new zealand on our honey moon. From the moment we arrived we knew this was a fabulous choice for us - the room was decked out the front to a stunnig view of the water front, a lovely room (great i-pod system) and quirky but spcious bathroom - but the best bit about staying here is the welcome and the real feeling that you are not just another person through the front door. Woodi and Jonny are fabulous hosts, enjoying drinks with their guests (there are only 2 or 3 rooms so there will never be many of you) before dinner on thier beutiful deck and booking anything from your next evening meal to kayaking the next morning at the last minute. This is a fantastic place to stay, with lovely people and lovely views. Thanks Woodi, we're only sorry it took us so long to write this!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed here two nights in February. The hosts are really great...extremely helpful, booking both a dinner reservation and a water taxi for us. The room was nice, clean...absolutely no complaints. The 6pm cocktail/snack time was a nice touch as well. Really a good experience with some great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tac1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

One of the best B&B's on our 3-week New Zealand sojourn, and certainly the best scrambled eggs anywhere! Woodi was the perfect hostess, entertaining us with wine & nibbles in the evening and advising on trips etc. She & Johnny are great characters & we loved our stay there - just wish it could have been longer than 2 nights. The room was extremely comfortable with a balcony giving stunning views over the harbour - on our last morning we even saw orcas (see photo!). The view from the loo has to be seen to be believed! The only slight niggle - and it's very slight - is that the B&B is on the main road which was quite busy at times (by New Zealand standards anyway!) A great place to stay though - heartily recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Our stay at Wakefield Quay was so much more than we expected! We expected a lovely place, a comfortable room, a beautiful view and nice people.

What we found was an exceptional place, a "glorious" room and the nicest and most entertaining hosts we have ever met.

Woddi was unbelievable.....her energy and dazzling personality was delightful. Johnny, was easy to talk to and it was great to hear his sailing stories!

The evening sunset celebrations were a great way to meet the other guests and friends of our hosts....and the wine was always good - as was the freshly caught sashimi!

We look forward to returning to New Zealand someday and when we do you can bet we'll be visiting Woodi and Johnny once again.

Kurt and Marie Winner
Honolulu, Hawaii

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $256 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson Harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine or craft beer. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original New Zealand artworks. King and Queen seaview ensuite rooms, air conditioning, LED lighting, big fluffy towels, flat screen TVs, ipods and docks, USB sockets, safe and free wi-fi. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and the Nelson Lighthouse, including great sunset vistas. You can swim in the ocean right out front and stroll along the waterfront to The Boat Shed Cafe, Styx, Nahm and Harbour Light Bistro. Rates include hosted complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6pm to 7pm each evening and a delicious cooked breakfast using the best local produce. We have two cats onsite so we hope you don't have an allergy to cats! Come and kick your shoes off and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing