We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way more than Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wakefield Quay House
Ranked #4 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Way more than Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wakefield Quay House was the first place we stayed in NZ and we couldn't have asked for more. The house is beautiful - stylish, interesting and very comfortable. Wine, snacks and conversation with Woodi and Johnny on the huge deck come as part of the package and make the experience extra-special. They are great hosts. We stayed for one night, left for two to go to Abel Tasman and came back for another. On our return, we got a huge "welcome home" hug from Woodi. She booked restaurants for us both nights, and even made sure we got the best tables. Breakfasts were great. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on our first morning. On our second, we left at the dawn and Woodi made us a very substantial packed breakfast to take with us. We highly, highly recommend this place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sinoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
163
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Often you go to a new place and feel lost until you get your bearings. Woodi and Johnny are the perfect insiders' guides to Nelson, friendly, helpful and well connected. There's nothing that gets past them, whether it's food and wine, arts, crafts, design or yachting. Mi casa tu casa really means something when staying with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMGrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The four of us traveling together on our first trip to NZ agreed that staying at Wakefield Quay House was our favorite place to stay during our two weeks of travel. Woodi and Johnny were spectacular and entertaining hosts who made us immediately feel at home. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, the views spectacular, but the best part was sharing wine and nibbles in the evenings that included scrumptious food and delightful conversations that often erupted in belly laughs around the table. The location is perfect for exploring Abel Tasman National Park. Our hosts provided us daily activity recommendations that were perfect for our time schedules and desires to explore the beautiful scenery while getting in a few hikes. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

A magnificent villa overlooking the bay with splendid hosts in Woodi and Johnnie. Inside is all elegant comfort with classic styling and beautiful furnishings. The glorious view of the bay can been enjoyed from the verandah, the breakfast room and the front bedrooms; a great thing to which to wake up before enjoying a delicious freshly prepared breakfast.

All in all, a delightful environment in which to relax for a couple of days... or maybe more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DSMIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This bed and breakfast is an elegant old home right across the road from the water and quite close walk to the beach. The bedrooms are well furnished and have unique ensuite bathrooms. The hosts enjoy having a social at 6pm every evening and when weather permits, sitting on the patio is quite relaxing as the sunset is in full view. Breakfast starts with a fresh fruit salad and continues on to include eggs, bacon, toast or eggs, smoked salmon and warm buns. Coffee upstairs to start your morning then a few more cups with breakfast - perfect start to the morning. No parking lot but street parking in front works just fine. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it if you are in Nelson.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony is extra and fun to have to look at the water but the other room has a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay with Woodi and Johnny. Great hosts and what a location - best Nelson views. Lots of help in trip planning and dinner suggestions... Our rooms were separate from the hosts' so we felt like we had our own house. Great old building lovingly maintained and renovated to suit a B&B. Lots of nice touches for guests (great coffee - jug boiled before we were out of bed), wine and nibbles every night.....the list goes on. Thanks for a great weekend "home".

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful B&B that sat right on the water with a beautiful view. Woodi and Johnny were delightful. We didn't want to leave! We will definitely be returning to Wakefield Quay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Property: Wakefield Quay House
Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original New Zealand artworks. Queen seaview ensuite rooms, big fluffy towels, flat screen TVs, ipods and docks, and free wi-fi. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and the Nelson Lighthouse, including great sunset vistas. You can swim in the ocean right out front and stroll along the waterfront to The Boat Shed Cafe and Harbour Light Bistro. Rates include hosted complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6 to 7 each evening and a delicious cooked breakfast using the best local produce. We have two cats onsite so we hope you don't have an allergy to cats! Come and kick your shoes off and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing