We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, stylish and very, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wakefield Quay House
Ranked #7 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

A magnificent villa overlooking the bay with splendid hosts in Woodi and Johnnie. Inside is all elegant comfort with classic styling and beautiful furnishings. The glorious view of the bay can been enjoyed from the verandah, the breakfast room and the front bedrooms; a great thing to which to wake up before enjoying a delicious freshly prepared breakfast.

All in all, a delightful environment in which to relax for a couple of days... or maybe more.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DSMIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Wakefield Quay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This bed and breakfast is an elegant old home right across the road from the water and quite close walk to the beach. The bedrooms are well furnished and have unique ensuite bathrooms. The hosts enjoy having a social at 6pm every evening and when weather permits, sitting on the patio is quite relaxing as the sunset is in full view. Breakfast starts with a fresh fruit salad and continues on to include eggs, bacon, toast or eggs, smoked salmon and warm buns. Coffee upstairs to start your morning then a few more cups with breakfast - perfect start to the morning. No parking lot but street parking in front works just fine. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it if you are in Nelson.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony is extra and fun to have to look at the water but the other room has a wonde...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a fantastic stay with Woodi and Johnny. Great hosts and what a location - best Nelson views. Lots of help in trip planning and dinner suggestions... Our rooms were separate from the hosts' so we felt like we had our own house. Great old building lovingly maintained and renovated to suit a B&B. Lots of nice touches for guests (great coffee - jug boiled before we were out of bed), wine and nibbles every night.....the list goes on. Thanks for a great weekend "home".

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful B&B that sat right on the water with a beautiful view. Woodi and Johnny were delightful. We didn't want to leave! We will definitely be returning to Wakefield Quay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Wakefield Quay House for 3 nights and was very impressed with the property and the warm hospitality, some highlights:

- Literally best location in Nelson, amazing unobstructed views of the Tazman Bay, and walking distance to many fine dining restaurants and few mins drive to the beach and city
- Property is outstanding, Woodi and Johnny have really invested and maintained the beauty of the house. Every piece of furniture and decor complemented well in each room/space, very unique style (kinda naval / vintage / and eclectic earthy all together ) - we took plenty of pics for inspiration for our own home! The outdoor deck is beautiful and apparently everyone in town knows too
- Our room was outstanding, very spacious and well decorated, with a full balcony with full sea view to ourselves. The bathroom was really unique and also had a full view of the sea with clear windows as walls
- Woodi and Johnny were amazing hosts, full of personality and welcomed us with open arms. They planned our entire itinerary in Nelson through the wineries and best places to eat and cruise around.
- Breakfast was delicious - we really enjoyed the fresh baked bread!
- Patsy and Peter, their cats, made the stay even better

Thank you Woodi and Johnny for the hospitality, we'll be sure to visit again. Anita + Grant

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is our second stay with Woodi & Johnny and they welcomed us like old friends. It was great to catch up over some wine and nibbles and once again enjoy their beautiful home and fabulous food - whitebait for breakfast! We highly recommend staying here and will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

While on our honeymoon my wife and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. A great B&B is part location, part facility and part the owners. In each case this place EXCELLED!. How can you not relax in a warm comfortable home with such a wonderful view. And the owners, just fantastic. In addition to fabulous breakfasts, Woodi put together a personal private winery tour for us. Upon having a banking issue, lost card, Woodi took the time to communicate with our bank and even drove us to a local branch to retrieve our card, this took the stress away and allowed for my wife and I to enjoy the area more. What great service. Upon leaving we thanked the owners for opening up their home to us and Johnny said "we also opened our hearts to you" so true Johnny so true. Many thanks to Woodi and Johnny for a great time that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $256 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson Harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine or craft beer. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original New Zealand artworks. King and Queen seaview ensuite rooms, air conditioning, LED lighting, big fluffy towels, flat screen TVs, ipods and docks, USB sockets, safe and free wi-fi. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and the Nelson Lighthouse, including great sunset vistas. You can swim in the ocean right out front and stroll along the waterfront to The Boat Shed Cafe, Styx, Nahm and Harbour Light Bistro. Rates include hosted complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6pm to 7pm each evening and a delicious cooked breakfast using the best local produce. We have two cats onsite so we hope you don't have an allergy to cats! Come and kick your shoes off and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing