We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wakefield Quay House
Ranked #6 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We loved our stay!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Moore's are amazing hosts! This was our first B&B experience and we are so happy it was at the Wakefield Quay. First, their home is amazing! Our private room had a private balcony! We were so comfortable! The location is convenient to amazing restaurants too. Just ask Woodie for any advice. She's an amazing cook too! We felt at home!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
163
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Wow, what an amazing and wonderful time we had here. Just utterly perfect in every way. We will always remember the warm and generous welcome we received from Woodi and John,and the happy, time we had here.
We felt utterly at home yet totally pampered. Marvellous views of the bay from the deck and from our bedroom - breathtaking to wake up to. The rooms are gorgeous. Woodi's breakfasts are indeed a highlight. Drink and nibbles on the deck - perfect. While we were really in Nelson for work it really felt like a lovely holiday! Glad we decided to stay an extra day just for fun.
Happy memories indeed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for about a week during our honeymoon, and it was a marvelous time at the Wakefield Quay House (they say key not kway). Woodi and Johnny are wonderful hosts, and Woodi is great with suggestions of things to do, see, eat, and sip in the area. Woodi and Johnny completely refurbished this Victorian in a cozy, comfortable, well-appointed kind of way (i.e., no lace or antique dolls here). It was a joy just walking through the house looking at the original artwork Woodi has collected over the years.

The house itself has lots of stairs, which is how it gets such great views! Park on the street, and walk up ~1.5 flights to the front deck. The front door is off this level. The two guest rooms are on the third floor of the house--both facing the front with views of the water. We stayed in the Crow's Nest Room, which is the larger of the two. Both are wonderfully appointed and lack for absolutely no amenity!! The bed was very comfortable, and there were even fresh flowers in our room.

Breakfast: Woodi serves a different breakfast every day and was sure to ask us if there were any dietary needs or requests when we arrived. Generally, it consisted of two courses: fresh, local fruit salads and a hot course. There was also always fresh local juice, coffee, tea, toast, marmalade, and other spreads. The hot courses included meals like scrambled eggs and lox, fried eggs on toast with bacon, etc. Always delicious and beautifully presented (with silver service)!

Evening nibbles and wine were shared most nights by our host, which was very appreciated. It was also a good chance to chat with our hosts about plans for the next day.

Even though we stayed quite off-season, the weather was beautiful and sunny the entire time we were there. HINT: there may be special rates available for off-season or extended stays (inquire directly of the hosts).

Woodi arranged a private, guided kayak trip for us with her friend Nick. Nick is very knowledgeable regarding local marine life, and he even took us through some rock tunnels. (www.cablebaykayaks.co.nz). One of my favorite days on our three-week honeymoon in NZ. Pack a picnic lunch if you're going to do this because you'll stop at a private beach for an hour, and you'll wish you had some snacks along.

Some of our favorite wineries in the Nelson area (we preferred Nelson wines to Marlborough--shhh): Te Mania/Richmond Plains (same cellar door), Neudorf, and Kahurangi.

Good restaurants in the area: The Boat Shed Cafe and Waterfront Cafe are both delicious and just a few doors down. In town, try the Indian Cafe on Collingwood (try the banquet). Hopgoods was delicious but very expensive and made us sick the next day. My husband thought the Free House Pub had the some of the best beer in New Zealand, and the atmosphere is really cool because it's in a small, old church building.

Room Tip: Inquire about special deals or rates for off-season or extended stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I'm not sure what I can say about this place that hasn't already been said by many others. The house is fantastic, our Bird's Nest room was extremely comfortable, with lovely views over the bay and, best of all, the hosts Woodi and Johnny are wonderfully warm and friendly. Drinks, nibbles and chats at 6, were great fun. Breakfast was different every day, and always excellent.

Woodi 'organized' us brilliantly, during our stay, suggesting and booking for us great restaurants (Hopgoods is especially worth a visit), walking in Abel Tasman and day trips to local wineries.

As others have noted, the house is on the reasonably-busy coast road, but we weren't disturbed by it at all. The price you pay is towards the top end for a NZ B&B, but what you get for your money is not just a comfortable room, but a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyZeEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedley, California
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We started our trip on the South Island at the Wakefield House. Meeting Woodi & Johnnie was definitely a great beginning. They were fabulous hosts, treated us like part of their family and we have great stories and many laughs as part of our memories of New Zealand. In addition to great hosts, the place & location is absolutely beautiful...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Don't be put off by the main coast road running outside this seriously stylish and fun B&B. The traffic, though busy during the day, is very much quieter at night. From the moment you climb the steps up from the road, look out at the glorious sea view and are welcomed by Woody and Johnny, you realise that you've arrived somewhere special. The house is full of beautiful paintings and lovely furniture and both bedrooms are very comfortable and well-equipped. Our bedroom, the 'Crow's Nest' has its own terrace looking out over Tasman Bay, and the view from its loo is exceptional! Woody cooks a superb breakfast - different each day, and gave lots of helpful advice and suggestions to help us plan our stay in the Nelson/Abel Tasman area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were met by Woody who expected us earlier and was waiting for our arrival. The B& B was beautiful, the hosts so Kiwi friendly and both she and Johnny were a delight. Pointed us in the right direction for restaurants and excursions. Would definitely recommend to all of our friends that may visit N.Z. Loved the conversations over wine and nibbles and the breakfasts were fabulous. So sorry that we only stayed 2 nights.
Lenore and Bob Davies, Novato, Calif.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Property: Wakefield Quay House
Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original New Zealand artworks. Queen seaview ensuite rooms, big fluffy towels, flat screen TVs, ipods and docks, and free wi-fi. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and the Nelson Lighthouse, including great sunset vistas. You can swim in the ocean right out front and stroll along the waterfront to The Boat Shed Cafe and Harbour Light Bistro. Rates include hosted complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6 to 7 each evening and a delicious cooked breakfast using the best local produce. We have two cats onsite so we hope you don't have an allergy to cats! Come and kick your shoes off and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing