We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not convinced it's 'quirky'”
Review of Aloha Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloha Lodge
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this place without too much care because we really only needed a bed for the night, and to be fair it met that need. We found it very well located, very close to Tahuna beach and eateries, and also it was clean. The architecture is a bit of a surprise, dated and faux pagoda, we thought we were beachside in Nelson New Zealand? On the down side, the parking is limited, the decor is very dowdy, and we were disturbed early in the morning by hordes of kids careering around the corridors and outside the windows - seemed like a soccer team was in for the weekend. The pillows on the bed were pretty aged and flat too. Wouldn't hurry back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha L, Owner at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We're sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We had identified the pillow issue and they are being replaced with double the quantity as we speak. Also our refurbishment is underway with the outside being painted now and the inside due to start at the end of the month. Hopefully you will come back and stay again, we'd love to show you the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week in June. Was lucky to get the tower suite and was stunned by the size of the rooms, its not often you get your own sauna. Nick and Justine run a great ship, very welcoming and accommodating. Agree that the rooms are a little dated but it doesnt make any difference to the enjoyment of the place.Though it was winter the rooms were warm and the sun coming thru the windows was always welcoming. Some good restaurants and bars within walking distance and on a sunny morning the walk into town takes just 40 minutes, maybe more if you stop for a coffee at a cafe along the waterfront walkway.
I will be back and hopefully be put in the tower again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed four nights in this accommodation and really enjoyed. Hosts and staff were all very friendly and nothing was a bother. Rooms a little dated but clean and tidy. Comfortable bed. Well equiped. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Hi Patricia
Thank you for choosing to stay at Aloha Lodge and for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Justine, Nick and the Aloha Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed two nights. Loved this motel! Nick and Justine were very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy, free Wi fi, well equipped kitchenette. We stayed in the tower apartment, which was lovely and warm, light and sunny. An older motel that will be even better once refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Marg T. Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Aloha and look forward to welcoming you back again next time your travel north.
Kind Regards
Nick, Justine and the Aloha Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having driven round most of Nelson in search of at least a half-decent motel we finally alighted on the Aloha Lodge and very grateful we were too. Janine immediately upgraded us to the quirky 'tower suite' and everything was indeed, fine and dandy. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped, the plentiful breakfast more than adequate and close proximity to a cracking beach, ideal. If you're staying in Nelson you could do a whole lot worse than checking into the Aloha, so much so we doubled our stay and didn't regret anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in an upgraded room - one in a tower, octagonal in shape, quirky and fun being large and with good views across the park to the beach. Facilities included a comprehensive kitchenette, large corner bath with jacuzzi, sauna (yes, sauna), free breakfast, free use of internet laptop, tea & coffee on the go all day. Staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble. Only downside was the restaurant was a bit utilitarian (was a backpackers hostel at one time and they have plans to improve this area) but overall I loved the place. If you can get the better room, and I don't have knowledge of the standard accommodation, I don't think you could better The Aloha.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites in the towers, well worth the extra cost. Arrive with some basics (bisc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed one night 10/3/13 and we were very happy with the accomadation. Our room was very good, plenty big enough for what we wanted and ensuite. Nicely laid out with drink facilities although no air con which initially was a concern as the room was very hot when we arrived in the afternoon due to the large glass windows but that changed in the evening and did not affect us. We were used to cooking our meal in the evening as self touring and were allwed by the staff to use the main kitchen. Manager even got us some wine glasses. We were able to eat outside in the warm evening and also had our supplied continental breakfast there in the morning. Breakfast was fine. We were told premises had new owners who planned to update the rooms and therefore we would expect the facilities to be even better. Would highly recommend it. Ample offstreet parking. Would agree with other reviewer re Asian style, made the premises just that little bit different and just hope new owners don't change it too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is always so important. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Aloha Lodge and pleased to hear you spent time in our lovely garden setting having your meal. We hope to see you back some day when our property wil be "even better". Kind Regards
Justine and Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
502 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Lodge

Address: 19 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast, Aloha Lodge is just 2 minutes' walk from Nelson's beautiful Tahunanui Beach. We offer Free View Channels. Some rooms also have saunas and a spa baths. Aloha Lodge is close to Nelson Airport and Nelson City is an 8 minute drive away. There are several restaurants and bars within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aloha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing