We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Centrally Located to the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2009

The Inn, which is a motel, is very new. My room was immaculate. The room had a kitchenette with stove, microwave oven, and refrigerator. There was a television with a reasonable selection of channels, DVD player, and broadband Internet. There was an initial 3 NZD fee for Internet with for a usage of up to 20 Mb and then a fee of 15 NZD cents per Mb of subsequent usage.

I was surprised that the Inn rooms, at least the one I had, did not have air conditioning. If you have your door open to the small patio then you hear the passing cars. The hotel is in the center of the city and has a good location for accessing the Central Business District.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 558 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

Everything has already been said about the Palazzo Motor Lodge. Bob and Kiara are extremely well suited to the hospitality business, and the rooms are just beautiful. The only downside for us was traffic noise. Our room was right over the busy road, but I coped by using earplugs.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patnlcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Just wanted to add to all the glowing reports about this hotel and it's hosts. The accomodation is first class and Bob and Kiara so friendly and helpful. We were at the Palazzo for our 40th wedding anniversary and it will be one we shall always remember.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

There is nothing I can write here that hasn't been said already. So I will simply endorse all of the comments made to date and confirm that this place is everything we hoped for from the other reviews, and Bob and Kiara were the perfect, personable and helpful hosts. Thank you very much! Next time we're in Nelson, we'll be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed for three nights and right from the moment we made a telephone enquiry to through to our departure, we knew we had made the right decision. The hotel had been recommended to us by a friend and described as 'fantastic' and it certainly lived up to and exceeded that description in every way. It is obvious the owners not only understand how important customer service is, but they demonstrate in every way they actually care about their guests and will do anything they can to add to the overall holiday experience. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard with cleanliness and appearance given equal detailed consideration. After a busy day it was great to return to a first class room where everything was absolutely perfect. I sincerely hope we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed for two nights in January and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and good value. We found the Management to be very helpful as demonstrated by us turning up early and them making every effort to get us into our rooms as soon as possible. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I was going to write this glowing report on how this hotel is THE ultimate in accomodation in Nelson, but I dont have to.
Everything good has all been written before.
Its location is ideal, a 3 minute walk from the shopping hub of the town, a short drive from the sea.
Karen was only too willing to help us and advise on attractions.
We stopped before a trip and came back for our final 2 nights in NZ.
We sampled the Presidential room first but had to 'settle' for a studio on return but seriously, based on comfort, you really couldn't tell the difference apart from a jacuzzi.
This is THE place to stop if you are treating yourself. It is no more expensive than other motels/hotels in the area.
Cannot rate the place high enough

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank safc1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $104 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing