We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, the Only Place to Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2008

From the moment that we arrived we were treated like family.Nothing was too much trouble for these lovely hosts.
The rooms are wonderful in all respects and we can assure anyone who decides to stay(be they royalty or tired travellers)they will not regret staying at the Palazzo,It is without doubt First Class,Five Star accomodation. We will return in the future.Alan&Mary Rooksby.Nottingham.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank golfnutNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 553 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2008

The Palazzo, Motor Lodge. 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson. N.Z.

We stayed here in February 2008 on our journey through South Island.

We were attracted by the beautiful facade and Italian appearance of the place. The inside was no less impressive and the decor in the rooms demanded a longer stay than we could allow.

We considered the price, as value for money and the pleasant and helpful owners Bob and Kiara Barnett were a delight to meet.

I do not normally writereviews but I think The Palazzo deserved recognition.

Thank Craigieknowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

This is a nice, clean, new, convenient place to stay in Nelson.

The units are self contained with a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank n219ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Great hotel with beautiful rooms and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank visit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Great place to stay, excellent location and extremely comfortable rooms. The biggest spa bath we encountered on our trip!
Very helpful and accomodating hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKI-ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Hosts Gavin and Anne Marshall made us welcome from the moment we arrived at this brand new "motor lodge". We booked the Ambassador Suite which was comfortably furnished and well-equipped e.g. cooking facilities, Sky TV in the lounge and the bedroom, phone and fax, and free use of bikes. As all car hire rental companies reported no available cars, our hosts gave us free use of their car for all weekend. Another example of excellent hospitality was when we found our washing had all been hung up to dry.
Breakfast was excellent and delivered to our room right on time. We highly recommend you to stay at the Palazzo and enjoy its central position in beautiful Nelson.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank rodney-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing