We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights at Palazzo, and we were given the Presidental Suite. Very nice room plus big bedroom with kingbed, and a little terace with 2 olive trees. We enjoyed our stay here, had a spa bath in our bathroom, and plenty of towels and toilettries.
Staff was very helpful and the location is great. A short walk to Trafalgar street and good restaurants. Very nice, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    56
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
313
48
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

we had a great stay here. We asked for a room away from the road and our request was granted. We stayed in a studio in the back of the complex. Super clean, well furnished, great jetted tub, small fridge. We were given milk at check in. Kiera was working the desk and helped us find a restaurant, gave us great advice on Saturday activities, and was just super nice. We were able to leave our car parked here all of Saturday. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main section of town. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank konagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent 5 Star + Accomodation. I travel for business in the South Island and the North Island and for me staying at the Palazzo is one of the best places I have stayed in NZ. The high standard of cleaniness in the room makes you feel at home and Bob Kiaria are just the best hosts you could wish for. I always recommend all my business companions to book with them.
Helen T Christchurch

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

An upmarket motel with everything you could possibly want. Spacious and beautifully decorated apartment with lovely ensuite and kitchen facilities, all spotless. A few minutes walk from Nelsons centre with its excellent choice of shops and restaurants. All the staff were extremely helpful. It really was 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent 5 Star Accommodation, Palazzo really does deserve the 2010, 2011 & 2012 Tripadvisor Travellers Choice Awards!

The first time I stayed at the Palazzo was January 2012; I had booked through wotif and travelling on my own from Australia on business. I had booked a studio apartment and it was fantastic.
I extended my booking by an extra 4 nights, booking directly was better value. Not only did Palazzo exceed my expectations in every area, Kiara was really, really helpful. All of her recommendations were spot on from dining o shopping, sightseeing and trips Kiara was there to help book them all. The first trip to Nelson and Palazzo was so fantastic I decided that more of my family had to come and experience it.

My family and I have just had another amazing trip to New Zealand and Nelson was the highlight. Palazzo was the best accommodation we had on the whole trip in New Zealand. Our rooms, the two bedroom apartment and the one bedroom apartment were amazing, exceptionally clean, spacious and beautifully appointed. On arrival Kiara was so welcoming again and really looked after all of us for the whole time we were there. She arranged all our trips,made restaurant reservations, even arranged our accommodations in Queenstown, Lake Tekapo and Lake Wanaka for the rest of our trip. A business woman I have travelled extensively and I have grown to expect first class accommodation and service wherever I stay. Palazzo has lived up to my expectations admirably. I can honestly say Palazzo ticks all he boxes, exceptionally clean,the best customer service I have ever received, amazing value, and fantastic accommodation with great night's sleep.

If you go to Nelson stay at the Palazzo and experience it for your self.

An Avid Traveller.

Room Tip: Peruse the images of the suites on the Palazzo site. They are exactly what you get on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Kira and Bob were wonderful and the hotel room was extraordinary. I highly reccomendd the Pallazzo Motor Lodge. Lots of room to settle in and get comfortable. Everything was so clean it looked new. The level of service was more like we were family and not just hotel patrons. The room was so well appointed it felt like an apartment and we would have liked to stay for a few weeks. They also had an excellent recommendation for dinner at the Boat Shed where we had an great meal (4.5) only five minutes away, dinner on the deck was in the waterfront with sunset views... Cheers, GH

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gham98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Nelson, and found the Palazzo to be be excellent. The rooms are very clean and well looked after. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone planning to visit Nelson.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kessaf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Property: Palazzo Motor Lodge
Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing