We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfull”
Review of Harbourside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbourside Lodge
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightfull”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Rose the owner, was very helpful and made our stay enjoyable. I was there with a large group for work and she took the trouble of picking up stray clothing items for washing which was neatly folded on our return each evening.
Very neat and tidy with great views over the marina and a handy location for our place of work. Good restaurant right next door so no need to venture out.

Room Tip: Get a view out over the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice words. Rose also liked your company and told me you were very enjoyable guests. Look forward to see you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
105
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was there on work, working at Nelson port. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Getting our laundry done each day was no easy job. Would recommend it to anyone going to Nelson for the hosts alone, but location was also great. Just a 10 minute walk to Nelson central.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for these kind words. We know that with Rose and Simon we have great managers there and is is good to hear this from the guests as well. All the best and we look forward to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Check in was quick and both us and our friends had ground floor rooms opposite reception area. Rooms well equiped for our overnight stay although we seem to have been given the disabled unit which although bathroom disability friendly found the rest of the room lacking for wheelchair access around bed and even out onto the little patio area outside our room. Using the shower was a problem in regards to the whole room became wet including the toilet and our preventative measures could not resolve this. All provided towels were used to mop floor to prevent slipping. The supplied continental breakfast and our chosen cooked breakfast were lovely for the price and the male staff member operating breakfast room was very friendly. All in all a nice place to stay overnight but not sure I would want to stay longer as noted in prior reviews kitchen facilities very minimal and yes the smallest fridge I have encountered in all our travels. Bed was very comfortable and motel super quiet.

Room Tip: Downstair rooms have patios on marina carpark level which means if using them are very open to marin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words. Despite the fact that very few of our guests us the fridges at all, we have started to upgrade them with slightly larger ones. If we have guests in wheelchairs we rearrange the furniture to create better access around the bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great place to stay. Warm, friendly hosts and the complimentary continental breakfast was lovely. The place was clean and tidy and very roomy.
A little bit of noise from the portside businesses nearby by that couldn't be heard from inside the room.
Lovely marina area and excellent restaurant next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstyD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much Kirsty. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the port noise outside the building. However, as you mentioned we have high quality windows to make sure you don't hear it inside the units. You are always welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights and were really impressed with the accommodation and facilities. The complimentary continental breakfast was appreciated as was the April $10 cooked breakfast special. The room was beautifully presented, clean and had a really comfortable bed. We chose a room overlooking the courtyard but would definitely go for one overlooking the marina next time for the view. Also as we were in the room next to the breakfast room there was a small amount of noise in the mornings while the breakfast room was being prepped. Everybody was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise you may notice the morning preparation noises in the breakfast room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazda8024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for this, you were wonderful guests and you are always welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We live in the North Island and we were nearing the end of one of our frequent enjoyable tours of the South when we booked two nights at the Harbourside Motor Lodge as a result of looking at the internet which made the place sound very appealing. It was the first motel that we had ever visited when there was noone at reception when we arrived during normal office hours but no problem because instructions were left for us in an obvious place.When we arrived in our room the first thing we noticed was a strong stale cigarette smell even though the place is advertised as smoke free. The smell was still there in the morning indicating that this is rather a long term problem.The room was a great disappointment with a very poor quality fit out bearing in mind the $175.00 per night cost of our room. The TV was the smallest we have ever encountered in any motel although the sky package available was very comprehensive.When we booked directly with the owner he told us that our room had a "full kitchen" which was important to us. Bearing in mind this is supposed to be a Qualmark 4 star establishment (which we seriously query) we were amazed that the full kitchen included the smallest fridge we have ever seen in a NZ motel being approx half the normal motel fridge size.There was a very small microwave attached to the wall above the sink and work surface.and everything in the kitchen area had been very well used. The motel is advertised as Nelson's only waterfront location which may well be true but you have to look over a line of cars in a car park before you see the marina which faces inland and is surrounded by industrial buildings as is the motel. In fact if you refer to the motel information guide in the rooms they say under their heading "Noise and Dust" " As we are located in the Port area there may be some noise or dust from Port activities. We apologise for any inconvenience" When we went to the office when it re-opened at 3 pm a very helpful receptionist seemed suprised that we only wanted to stay one night because we did not like the place but agreed to cancel our second night without penalty.
Maxine G

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxineG599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights over Easter. We had a ground floor room (our choice) which looked out to the lovely marina. Room was fresh & clean, lots of room & we enjoyed sitting outside with our wine & nibbles at the little table & chairs off our room. We loved the quiet area - only an 8 min walk into town if you wish to walk, or a quick trip by car. The breakfast was delightful - thankyou with morning paper also. Very helpful & friendly hosts - they even booked us into the nearby restaurant (highly recommended). Loved the wee easter eggs left by our pillows each morning. We will definitely be staying again when next in Nelson.

Room Tip: Overlooking the marina as its so pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Lodge

Property: Harbourside Lodge
Address: 4 Duncan Street | Port Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing