We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. Extremely helpful staff for out of towners”
Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic location. Extremely helpful staff for out of towners”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. Supermarket. Shops city centre airports all close by. Great service and helpful staff would book again. Very clean rooms and grounds. Kids enjoyed onsite pool. Walking distance to services. Prompt taxi service area

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the location is something we are always receiving pleasing feedback about, and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. With the weather warming up the pool is becoming very popular - glad that the kids enjoyed it. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
77
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

With our 'usual' accommodation near Trafalgar Park unavailable I booked at Palms as relatives had stayed before and I liked what I saw when visiting.The location was perfect for the Park and town centre,, very clean and tidy and very friendly oblidging staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Well thank you for choosing us to stay with as your usual accommodation was booked up, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes we are very close to Trafalgar Park which is great when there are events on as well as being so central to town. We hope to see you again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked a team of staff in to Palms. Everyone was impressed with the quality service and well appointed and quality rooms. Quality at a reasonable rate. Will use again without a doubt. The office staff both by phone and in person were excellent and nothing was a problem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Whitney23G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for that lovely feedback, we love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and especially as this was a team of you and everyone was impressed. We hope you come and stay again sometime and look forward to seeing you then. Thank you again for your feedback, its really nice to know you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We'd been travelling and hiking around NZ for about a month, mainly the South Island.. This is by far the nicest place we stayed; clean, bright, awesome welcome and good sized rooms.. that with the central location was a winner.. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
What a lovely comment. Thank you so much for your feedback, we love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your trip around NZ and we hope to see you again in the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the first time I have been compelled to write a tripadvisor review. It all starts with value for money and to be charged $270 NZ for 1 nights accomodation in a dated and dark hotel room I plainly felt ripped off. We had been travelling throughout NZ for 2 weeks and this hotel did not compare for the money charged. Yes it is located within walking distance to the main centre of town but you also have to consider it is directly across the road at a supermarket receiving dock and directly behind our room was another receiving dock which at 7.45 am a forklift and pallet jack proceeded to spend at least half an hour unloading a truck within 2 meters of our window. Average room, average location with a premium price. If you want to put up with this level of accomodation it should be charged accordingly. Ripped off and we won't be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Owner at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.With regard to the supermarket across the road, it is beyond our control with how they operate their business, As for the forklift operating early that morning at the building next door we could have defiantly stopped that from happening if you had of contacted us at the time.
The rate of $270.00 you paid was for a two bedroom apartment and there were 4 people staying.
All our photos on our website are true and correct of our rooms, none of them are dated or dark .
We spend a lot of time and money to keep all of our 28 rooms up to date.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Would I stay here again? Yes, I would. Rooms are clean and fresh, we had a 2 bed apartment that was just about big enough for 5 and would have been great for 4.

Location is good, safe and convenient without being pretty. Quick walk to CBD, good supermarket just over the road, quiet at night time. All good, gave it 3 stars as it was one of the more expensive motels we used in NZ, a few dollars less and it would have been 4. Pool looked good, but didn't use in wintertime.

Reception helpful, told us about the local takeaways. Motel was nice, Nelson itself is lovely, as I said I'd happily stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SteveP1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we hear many lovely comments about how great our location is as it such a short walk to the CBD and everyone loves the fact were so close to the supermarket. Thank you for your feedback and we really hope to see you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a typical New Zealand motel with two storeys of rooms around an ample parking lot. The rooms have the facilities that one expects in New Zealand including a kitchen area with stove top, fridge, microwave and water heater accompanied by all necessary kitchen utensils, thus allowing a degree of self catering if needed. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bathrooms well appointed. Wifi is free. There is a small heated pool adjacent to the parking lot. The hotel has a guest laundry. Continental breakfast or a cooked option is also available. As usual in New Zealand, the check in person was very friendly and efficient. The hotel is a little way from the main shopping street of Nelson but it is an easy walk. We ate at Ford’s Restaurant on Trafalgar Street. It is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything here satisfactory. We hope to see you again in the future if you return to New Zealand and thanks again for your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Property: Palms Nelson
Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing