We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place To Stay”
Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been staying at the Palms Motel for several years. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. The location can't be beat. There's a grocery store across the street and you are a five minute watk to downtown and many restaurants. There's no reason to stay anywhere else while in Nelson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Nothing gives us more pleasure than to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and find rooms clean and comfortable. Location is always popular due to the close proximity to so many restaurants etc and yes that convenient Supermarket directly accross the street.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
77
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We came across this motel by accident and were not disappointed. The studio room was clean, comfortable and well appointed, including a spa bath. The Wifi allowance didn't last long and that was the only drawback. The motel itself is a few minutes from the town centre and therefore very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi. Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Spa Bath added to your comfort. Wifi is an issue we debate over, however we do offer the first hour free then have a small fee which gives guests up to 3 days Wifi use and according to many guests this is very resonable, but do appreciate it depends on which country you come from. My own personal example is having recently returned from a trip to USA we found we were charged rather large sums for ALL useage all over America. As for our location - it is very popular as we back on to Trafalgar Park and are only 2 minutes from Nelsons Main Street. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We only stayed one night, but had a number of family members stay for around 4 nights, as we had a wedding in Nelson. ALL of us who stayed were impressed with the Palms. Personally I was impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the studio room we stayed in, some family members had adjoining rooms which was fantastic. Close to the town center, close to a supermarket, great staff who were really down to earth and friendly. We were lucky as the staff were so helpful with all family/friends who stayed there for the wedding. My partner and I are already looking at dates to go back for a couple of days within the next month or so.

Big thank you Palms Motel, your attention to detail was fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a studio room, number 20. It had a small balcony and plenty of sun. Awesome bathroom for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We enjoyed having you stay and are pleased everything ran so smoothly for you. We wish wish the happy couple all the best for their future together. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and try our best to help guests with any number of requests. Looking forward to your return. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay; after travelling for so many days on the road, it was great just to relax and chill out with the kids going nuts about the pool. The rooms were very inviting, immaculate and the bed was dream country! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms open onto a courtyard but as the motel is not directly on a really busy road, it was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It gives us great pleasure to know our guests have been comfortable and enjoyed their stay. With this hot weather the pool is very popular this time of the year, as is the bbq - glad the kids enjoyed it. As for road noise, guest's frequently comment at how pleasantly suprised they are at the lack of noise, it's one of the reasons we put double glazing in to all the units, again we are pleased to hear it's doing it's job! I will pass on your comments to our house keeping crew about the cleanliness, they'll appreciate it. Thanks again and hope to see you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked into the Palms on the personal recommendation of a local music shop owner, we had never met him before, but he was more than happy to recommend the Palms to us, and what a treat, from the friendly greeting at the office, to the clean, fresh well appointed room our stay a relaxing and refreshing break to our trip. The room was newly decorated in modern furnishings and fresh paint work and considering how close we were to the central township, the noise levels were veery low.They also had a great off season rate for a hotel so close to town.
The staff we very forthcoming with plenty of advice on local attractions and local cafes. Great stay, well worth a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spuds6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for your great feedback. We need to thank the music shop owner don't we for recommending us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we do take pride in keeping the rooms updated and super clean. Any road noise is usually minor thanks to the double glazing, but it's always great to hear from you, our guests that you benefit from them. Glad you found some great local cafes, we are spoilt for choice considering Nelson is only a provincial town.
We look forward to a return visit from you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent rooms, fitted with all the luxuries you need in between long winding drives and camping adventure. The solar-heated salt pool was just perfect in the afternoon to unwind, and their internet was great so we could work the couple of days we had to during the week.

Very friendly hosts who are helpful beyond necessity, wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone and we'll stay again if we get the chance.

Location is ideal for testing out Nelson's great beer and wine locales - we recommend the Free House for a superb choice of local beers on tap and a well-priced healthy-but-tasty meal as you can enjoy all you want then just wander back slowly the two blocks to your hotel and relax for the rest of the evening.

Room Tip: There are two stories, we had a private balcony on the city side which we thought was the nicest opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi,
It was lovely to have you stay with us here in sunny Nelson. And thank-you for your wonderful feedback. Sounds like you enjoyed some of the great local micro brewery craft beers - something Nelson is fast becoming renowned for, having just won several awards through out the region.
So pleased your stay was comfortable and that you made the most of the pool - it certainly is popular this time of the year! As for being freindly - it makes our job a pleasure to help visitors stay comfortable and memerable, for all the right reasons. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we booked in here for a night as we live outside of Nelson city and had a do in town. We were blown away at the value for money, immaculate, clean, comfortable tasteful furnishings (husband loved recliner!) in fact we didn't want to leave to go to our function. We will most definately be back next time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Melissa,
Thank-you for your positive comments. We love to get feedback, both positive or otherwise because it allows us to know if we are on the "right-track" for our customers.
We get alot of comments in the office about the comfort of the recliners, hope you did make it to your function?! We'll look forward to seeing you again next time your in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Property: Palms Nelson
Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing