We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here as part of a trip to NZ from the UK in February. We had a couple of nights in Nelson visiting friends and relaxing and stayed at the Palms.

The service was excellent and they happily accomodated a shift around in rooms to that we could be next door to our parents. They were full at the time, so I suspect this was easier said than done!!

The rooms themselves were comfortable and clean and the location is close enough that you are only a five minute walk into town.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTrekkerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 177 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were 2 couples spending a week in Nelson, so we were very happy with the 2 bed room apartment at the Palms Motel, we found it hard to find other 2 bed accommodation options.

It was a bit expensive for a motel, but when you consider it comfortably accommodated the 4 of us it made it good value for money.

The location was great, easy walk into the town centre of Nelson, and on a quiet side road. It was opposite a supermarket which was convenient.

The apartment itself was comfortable, with limited small kitchen, but enough for a few nights (2 ring hob, microwave, no oven).

There was also a washing machine.

Bathroom was spacious with large spa bath, and shower was hot and powerful.

One bedroom was a double bed, the other 2 twin beds. The beds were very comfortable, and there were extra pillows / duvets etc.

Hanging space was limited, it was easier to live out of our suitcases.

The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful.

The internet was $30 for 5 days, $40 for 7 days which i thought was reasonable. It wasn't much cheaper for shorter usages, so it would seem expensive for people with shorter stays.

We would stay here again, particularly with 4 people to share the costs.

We paid $250 a night, so $125 per couple, over the April Easter bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I plus three teenagers stayed here in March for two nights. We loved it, near shops & restaurants. Very clean & comfortable. The only downfall..we would like to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book in advance, we had to take two studios as the two bedroom units were booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palms Motel for three nights recently whilst in Nelson for an AGM. We had an excellent stay here. Nothing was too much trouble for our host Cheryl. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Although we didn't have time to use the pool it looked very inviting! The Motel is within walking distance to the main shops and attractions and across the road from a large supermarket.

Room Tip: Most if not all of the upstairs rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Just as you enter Nelson, on the corner of Paru Paru Road, The Palms is ideally placed for the traveller. Directly across the road is a large supermarket and the Motel itself is an excellent choice. The build is new, the rooms nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and spotless linen, and to top it all there is a small pool and BBQ Area. We thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay here, and made good use of Nelson's restaurants and also Tahunanui Beach.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms 24-29 get the evening sun on their balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My first time to Nelson and this place was lovely, very clean with cooking facilities... Pool was smaller than in the picture but still very nice... Had to pay extra for Wi Fi access but was only about $20 for my 4 days... Would recommend to anyone visiting Nelson as it also walking distance from main shipping district..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SexiLexi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A colleague introduced me to the Palms. Neslon CBD is a square, the Palms is on the NW corner, so you can walk everywhere in town in 20 mins.

Motel has a nice pool ( if you get time to be in it), and the accomodation is everything you would expect from a high end NZ motel.

I always stroll out to dine. there's plenty of choices in the Nelson CBD, and the Palms is only a short stagger home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChChKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 42 in Nelson
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing