We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in a historic house”
Review of Warwick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick House
Ranked #14 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good stay in a historic house”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were aware of the fact that we had booked the "budget" room, and it was mostly to an acceptable standard. I would however suggest that the towels be replaced (worn out and hard) and the carpet be given a good clean. The owners seem lovely and they were very accommodating when our flight was delayed and we only checked in after 11 pm. Al-in-all a good stay in a photogenic house with loads of history.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickFerrier, Manager at Warwick House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the comments and feedback.

As Nelson is blessed with lots of sunshine, we do sun dry all our washing. This makes the towels and sheets smell nicer and fresher, but leaves them a little bit harder.
As we are washing them nearly every day, we don't like to use commercial chemical 'softner' - this is part of our sustainability policy.
We hope you will have the chance to visit Nelson again soon. We offer a free room upgrade for 2 night return direct bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    44
    15
    9
    14
See reviews for
18
130
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Warwick House - wonderful! We won a night stay at a local charity auction. And used the booking for our wedding anniversary - well such a surprise! Four poster bed, plush Victorian décor, claw foot bath & chocolate and breakfast with the host in the morning. We felt like royalty, especially using the fine bone china for morning tea. The homemade cereal comes with recipe and the ambience in the ball room is divine! Kim & John Pope

Room Tip: Go for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimstephenpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickFerrier, Manager at Warwick House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks Kim and Stephen, It was nice to have your here.
The' Bay view Suite' is a very popular choice for special occasions, wedding nights and
anniversaries. We offer a 'Romantic Turnover' option as a special treat.
Hope to see you here again. Nick and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved the ambience of this B&B - it had lovely period features and was very quiet. The breakfasts were nice and its just a short walk into town. We would be happy to stay again - the honeymoon suite suited all our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickFerrier, Manager at Warwick House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Paula, Nice to have you here. The 'Tower Suite' is certainly a nice honeymoon option.
Look forward to hosting you here again. Nick and Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 3 lovely nights at this B and B in Nelson over New Years and were cannot wait to come back for a longer stay. Nick and Jennie were so welcoming and helpful and obviously love their renovated home. The story of the Warwick House is fascinating and the labor of love to bring it back to its original splendor is much appreciated - especially as they added modern comforts in all the rooms. They extend their home to a few strangers daily and make them feel like family by the end of the stay. Vicki, the lab, loves to be taken on walks as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentormom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have just spent the weekend at Warwick House. It is a slice of Victorian decadance in 21st Century New Zealand. The current owners have restored this huge residence and we stayed in the tower suite. It is magnificent. The bed was huge and comfortable, the decor excellent. Breakfast is held in the ballroom and I felt as though I was Lord Grantham from Downton and kept looking over my shoulder for Carson to serve the coffee. (He did not, we had tea!) A fantastic place to stay. The ambience says relax, the furnishings encourage that. I did! Free WiFi for residents keeps you firmly in C21 if you want to be. Staff are subtle and attentive when you want them to be. We will be back.

Room Tip: Tower suite was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Warwick House in the Tower Room and were very impressed. It's a beautifully restored house with a fantastic Ballroom where breakfast is served. It's in a quiet neighbourhood very close to the city centre with beautiful gardens all around. Jenny and Nick were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our week long visit to sunny Nelson was made perfect by our stay in the Warwick house. Nick and Jenny made us feel at home, and their excellent local knowledge helped us plan a wine tour, an unforgettable trip to the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park, as well as recommendations for restaurants that really showed off the gastronomic talent in the area.

The Warwick House itself is a beautifully restored historical building that is nestled at the bottom of the Grampians. These hills provided a wonderful area for afternoon walks that featured views over the entire Nelson area. The Ballroom was truly magnificent, and between the delicious breakfast served there in the morning to a cozy afternoon spent by the fire, it was almost hard to leave to explore the rest of town! We stayed in the Victorian Suite which was wonderfully decorated, complete with a comfortable bed, spacious living room, and a well stocked kitchenette.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick House

Property: Warwick House
Address: 64 Brougham Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some nights of romance! Warwick House built in 1854 and just 5-10 mins. walk from the attractive center of 'sunny Nelson' is one of the finest early Victorian mansions in New Zealand. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Bayview or Tower suites, enjoy views over the city to the sea and gourmet breakfasts in the fully restored 'Grand Ballroom.' Many great walks and attractions are right on your doorstep.Direct boat service to Abel Tasman National Park, pickup from our doorstep. Enjoy Nelsons' famous 'Saturday Market' and all the great restaurants, cafes, craft centers and boutique ale houses. Direct bookings of 2 nights or more receive a complementary bottle of local wine (quote TripAdvisor-wine offer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick House Hotel Nelson
Warwick Nelson
Nelson Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing