We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather disrespectful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Motel Nelson
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Rather disrespectful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Arrived and stayed for one night due to unforeseen circumstances. First it was very confusing to find because it is actually situated in Bail St.. So had to ring to find the Motel. Then arrived to a lovely room but very stuffy, and you could not leave the fan going when going out because your key is the electricity to the suite, so remained stuffy. The bedside lights were not plugged into the walls and only half the main lights worked, also dust and hairs in the bathroom. The spa bath was great! and the bed was extremely comfortable.
However the contract needs to be changed when unexpected death happens in the family! when vacating the Motel to go home found out we had to pay for the entire weekend we had booked for, my partner and I found this very disturbing.. Although we understood that how many nights you book for, is how many you pay for. No sympathy from the owners or understanding was very rude, infact the woman seemed to be accusing us of making up my grandfathers death and asked why we were on holiday if this family member was infact so sick.. which i found to be very disrespectful! We think the owners need to learn compassion for other human beings in times of need, rather than being rude and disrespectful. We also believe that any good Motel or any place where reservations are required would have understood the circumstance and only required the payment for when the room was actually used.
I would certainly not recommend this motel to anyone expecting an unexpected death in your family, which is anyone at anytime..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
An accommodation provider be it a hotel or motel is unable to change the booking conditions a guest has when booking through a third party booking agent. This contract is between the other two parties.
Not withstanding that the first night was cancelled at 5.30pm on the day of expected arrival, the motel offered an extra day at the end of this guests stay at the motels expense.
We were sorry to hear of the demise of your family member which was only mentioned to us after payment and checkout.
We are also saddened that you can not recommend us as you appeared happy during your stay in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
48
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a room with a queen bed and spa bath. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a lot of clutter in the room; plants, candles, more than 2 chairs etc... It was also one of those places that tape little notes everywhere with insructions - not really a fan of this. All in all was an ok stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thankyou for taking the time to send in your feedback.
The signs displayed within all our units are a Health and Safety requirement. - Guests safety comes first.
We appreciate your feedback on our comfortable beds and pillows as these have been part of the recent upgrade within the units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Love this motel and highly recommend it for families and couples. we have 3 small children and boutique hotel is the only place we stay when visiting Nelson as the location is convenient and the value for money is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

As a New Zealand resident, I have generally refrained from reporting on my own countries accomdation, but given the amount f travelling I do, and the dependence on Trpadvisor for guiding me where to go, I thoughtit about time I did.
The Motel is located in a quiet suburb,far enough to be away from the bustle and noise of the city, but very close for those who know the shortcut roads.
In fact, it is located closer to many of the major visitor attractions than many other Nelson accomdations.
The Boutique Motel is easy to spot (on the second pass by), but getting into its carpark required a little more negotiating.
The welcome was friendly, and on immediate first name basis.
The room itself was downstairs, so some resident noise from above (being a two storey building) was inevitable, but not intolerable. Perhaps they may say the same about their ground floor guest.
Room was very clean, but smaller than expected for the price. Felt more like a Bed and Breakfast, without the breakfast (although it is available...at a cost). Yet, Nelson is an expensive place to stay. It did not wow me, like many other places for the same price, but then I would return if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

I was driving through the area and needed a hotel for an overnight stay. I booked the Boutique Hotel. At the time, I didn't realize it is about a 15 minute drive out of downtown Nelson. For my purposes, that was not a problem.

The room was decently sized and well furnished. It was away from the main road a bit, so there wasn't any street noise. There are a number of restaurants and takeaways in the area, however, not that many are full restaurants. There are two supermarkets within 2 blocks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alki_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena NI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

We enjoyed a one night stay, having travelled from Picton to the Boutique Motel, so arrived a little later than normal.
The welcome was warm, the facilities were excellent and they seem to have thought of just about everything at this motel.
It also had two of what I consider to be essential elements for a hotel/motel to have; good easy parking and free wi-fi.

The suite was really first class and we had come to be pretty spoilt during our month of touring around NZ.
The entire property is maintained to a very high standard, in fact we were sorry to be leaving after such a short stay.

There is police station almost next door, and a Countdown supermarket, which would be of greater significance, just a few hundred metres up the road.

Do make sure that you have clear directions in order to find the Motel, it is not in Nelson, but in Stoke, which is a few kms away. Having said that, you can enjoy Nelson and still enjoy the peace and quiet that you will find at the Boutique Motel.

Check out was simple and friendly, this motel is as good as any we stayed at in NZ and we stayed at lots of them!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#17 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
4.3 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Motel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Motel Nelson

Property: Boutique Motel Nelson
Address: 559 Main Road Stoke, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Motel Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a very popular and convenient location, the Boutique Motel offers its guests personal friendly service, peaceful surroundings, modern amenities, comfortable bedding and great showers.The important things in life when you are away from home. We are within walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, takeaways,the local shopping centre, Saxton Sporting fields and the WOW museum. Just 9kms to the centre of Nelson City. For the very best deals & prices available contact the Boutique Motel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boutique Motel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing