We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Motel Nelson
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great hotel, one downfall in my opinion would be the location quite inland in stoke, Nelson if that's where you want to be great, all though it was roughly a 10 minute drive to nelson CBD. Apart from that the 'motel' was hotel quality just without the Restaurant and Bar.
Price is very reasonable for level of quality
The pictures match the product which is the utmost importance in my opinion.
Unfortunately the same weekend we were in Nelson we inspected another motel in Nelson only to find it was horrid.

Would stay again, Cheers

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan_O_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Ryan_O_NZ,
Many thanks for your thoughts on your stay here with us.
We are pleased your stay with us and in Nelson was enjoyable. Your comment about the room matching the photos we list is appreciated. To us it is important that what prospective guests view online is what they receive when they stay with us.
Hoping your trip home was a safe one. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future if you return this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This is actually some way from Nelson ie in Stoke so best for those with cars if you want to be close to city. Stoke has nice parks also supermarket pubs etc.

Although rooms small they're modern and comfortable. Friendly staff.

T

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Cordt,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Boutique Motel.
Stoke is a suburb of Nelson. An approximate 10 -15 minute drive away from the city centre.
We can only surmise the Unit you booked was our most economically priced unit which is our Standard Studio. We do have on offer various sized units priced for various budgets. This being one reason we recommend prospective guests contact us directly as we can then offer the unit which will suit their needs best and offer the best rates available.
We hope your time in New Zealand was thoroughly enjoyable and that you have returned home safe and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed at the Boutique Motel in January when on a solo journey around New Zealand. The room was very clean and comfortable with modern en suite shower room. Tea and coffee facilities and fridge in the room. I found the use of washing machines great as I was travelling for 3 weeks. The owner was extremely helpful with suggestions for restaurants and sight seeing in the area. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd64smudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear jd64smudge,
Thank you for your review re. your stay with us at the Boutique Motel. It is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities we offer.
If you back this way again in the future it would be our honour to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The best overnight stay I've had on our 11 day trip thru N.Z. - my budget was clean/nice motel room in the range of $90-130 a night. It's in its name - 'boutique' amazing modern decor motel. Loved the striking arrangement of black/red/white colours, what looked like sleek renovated bathroom, priced in the same category (I forgot how much exactly, around $110-120 per night, of other nearby motels but 1-2 levels more upscale. From the front entrance to walking to our room on the side - lovely blooming potted flowers, spacious room with what looked like a king bed and a single bed in the corner. Lovely furniture, friendly owners (booked the room in the afternoon, still far away and knew we wouldn't make the 9pm arrival, called to tell them - they said 'no problem, we'll wait for you" they waited until 10pm). Free wifi. Great accommodation nearby, if visiting nearby Abel Tasman which was an absolute highlight of our N.Z. trip as well!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear YvetteG 970 ,
Thank you from us all here at the Boutique Motel. Your warm thoughts and reviews on our motel are much appreciated.
If you are ever back this way in Nelson we would love for you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed for business last week, hosts very very friendly and knowledgable about the area around Nelson. Facilities in the room were first rate, would highly recommend. Quite a friendly bar across the road, worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Simon D,
Many thanks for your review on your stay with us. We are pleased that our motel suited your requirements and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit to Nelson. Hope the rest of your trip in New Zealand went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had booked the Boutique Motel for a planned extended trip to New Zealand from the United States. This trip was to be an opportunity for my Dad who was stationed in New Zealand 50 years ago with the United States Navy to share the country of New Zealand with his family. 3 days prior to the trip my Dad was rushed to the hospital and had to have emergency surgery along with a diagnosis of Stage 3 colon cancer. This very unexpected and very devastating circumstances caused all of us to have to cancel our entire trip. This was a very difficult time for all of us. I had 14 separate hotels booked along with many other tours, excursions and transportations. Every vendor I dealt with was gracious, understanding and extremely accommodating to our very unfortunate circumstances EXCEPT the Boutique Motel in Nelson. They refused to refund my 2 night stay. They asked me to not cancel with the booking agent I had made the reservation with and asked me to work directly with them for them to try and rebook the room. They did not want their rating with Booking.com to be affected. This room was booked over a holiday weekend during high season, a time when they easily could have filled the room with someone else. After multiple emails back and forth, I did as they requested and by protecting their rating it cost me no refund. I am very disappointed that this property and its owner put the "mighty dollar" above good customer relations. We are hoping to rebook our vacation in the next 6 months when my dad is healthy enough again to travel. We will reschedule with each of New Zealand's gracious hosts who treated us with compassion and understanding and look forward to experiencing the hospitality of New Zealand. However we will not be giving any of our business to the Boutique Motel who's only reputation was to take advantage of our "hard times."

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank the5griswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Readers of Trip Advisor,
The 5Griswalds were clients of a 3rd party internet booking site.
There were a choice of options when they booked - they chose a cheap "non refundable" booking option with the conditions set down on the 3rd party site rather than the option of a booking which could be cancelled.
We attempted to help in the only way open to us thereby saving these people well over half the costs of their booking.
Sometimes our best is not good enough and for this we can only apologise.
For prospective guests reading this please make your accommodation requests direct with the provider of your choice to avoid any type of misunderstandings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The owners were friendly and helpful, the room was really well maintained, clean and with nice decor and it is set well back from the busy road. Definitely a boutique motel. The only downsides is that the motel is a long way from Nelson CBD and the rooms are small.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boilingfrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Boilingfrogger,
Thank you for your thoughts on your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
For future guests information the Unit you booked was a compact Standard Studio which is our most economically priced unit. They are delightful units with all the amenities required whilst away from home.These rooms are perfect for a single guest staying for any length of time or for a couple staying one or two nights. For longer stays we do have a variety of larger units. This being the reason we like to discuss with prospective guests what their requirements are so that all expectations can be met. When guests book direct by phone I am only too happy to recommend the appropriate unit for their stay.
We hope the rest of your holiday was just as enjoyable as it was in Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 41 in Nelson
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Motel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Motel Nelson

Address: 559 Main Road Stoke, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $78 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Motel Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a very popular and convenient location, the Boutique Motel offers its guests personal friendly service, peaceful surroundings, modern amenities, comfortable bedding and great showers.The important things in life when you are away from home. We are within walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, takeaways,the local shopping centre, Saxton Sporting fields and the WOW museum. Just 9kms to the centre of Nelson City. For the very best deals & prices available contact the Boutique Motel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Boutique Motel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing