We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Motel Nelson
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Over the last nine months i have stayed on numerous ocassions at the Boutique Motel in Stoke. The welcome is friendly, the facilites clean, tidy and up to day and the location great, with ample car parking, and excellent promixity to all the local attractions. A well appointed, reasonably priced and very welcoming place to stay. Try it next time you're in the Nelson region..

Room Tip: I have stayed in four different rooms on different ocassions and all are to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Glenys,
Another glorious day in Nelson so I hope it is the same in your home town.
Thank you for writing and submitting your review of the Boutique Motel. This is appreciated. It confirms to us that we must be doing things right if our guests keep coming back again. It is important to us to have a great rapport with our guests as this is the major component of running an accommodation business.
We always look forward to your trips to Nelson and your stays with us.
Nicky & Frank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently came across this Motel when i was looking for a new place to stay when I visit stoke in Nelson.i guess I can be a bit picky with accommodation and want great service and wont stand for unclean or worn rooms.I also want a good rate ( I know I know).This place fits the bill,its like brand new and not done on the cheap.There are two great eating places across the road,squires being the best.Frank and Nicky are great hosts and nothing seemed to much trouble,I will now be a regular.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonneville4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Bonneville4ever,
Thank you for placing your feed back regarding the Boutique Motel.
Your review highlights the things that are important to us also as accommodation providers.
Friendly people, great service, immaculately clean rooms, up to date decor and that the fact that if guests book directly with us they will receive the best rates as on our website we state that our rates are sensibly priced.
We hope to see you here again during your next visit to Nelson.

Nicky & Frank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in a downstairs unit, then an overnight stay on our return to Nelson. The first unit was modern, clean and very compact. The table was midget and the 2 chairs really didn't have enough room to use - we had to pull the table away from the wall to squeeze in, and remove the "decoration" from the table to fit a couple of plates. Doing dishes was weird - the cupboard above the sink was in the way and made it awkward. The bed was fine and because the unit was at the back, it was cool enough to be comfortable in the hot weather. No a/c.

From Nelson we went to, and stayed at motels in Westport, Hokitika and Christchurch which were all much roomier.

The second visit was much less pleasant. It was good to get back the sunglasses I'd left behind a week earlier. But the upstairs unit was really tiny - a ridiculous size for a motel. More like a hotel room in a basic/moderate hotel in Hong Kong. There was one chair, which almost blocked the entry, no table at all, so nowhere to sit to have our meal. It faced the sun and was uncomfortably hot. No a/c and a pitiful fan. There was nowhere for our suitcases to be unpacked except on the bed, or in my wife's case, a small fold out that then blocked access to the bed! I think it was quite inadequate for the purpose, and it seemed as if the managers were trying to cram as many units in as possible.

As we are not cat fans, that wandering around didn't thrill us.

To top it off, when I complained about the hot room I got no joy and was told to bring our meal dowstairs and out to the front of the motel to eat it because we had no chairs and table in our unit!

Needless to say, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67,529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thankyou for highlighting to Trip Advisors readers the importance of researching for one’s own special accommodation needs. This is why Trip Advisor is so popular.
The Boutique Motel has always promoted the Standard Studio unit as a compact, clean, sensibly priced, and modern unit suitable as a base to explore the region or to catch up with friends and family. As you discovered, it is not designed as a home away from home where one can expect to spend considerable time entertaining extra visitors. There were other more suitable units ( larger ) available to you at the time you booked. These were priced slightly higher than the Standard Studio but were and still are sensibly priced. Anyone with special accommodation requirements should not book any hotel/motel’s smallest room/unit, especially through a third party booking site.
We pride ourselves on our reception procedures, where we endeavour to match our guests with the right accommodation option available. We offer upgrades if possible, often complementary as was the case on your first two day visit. Unfortunately the motel was full on your second one day visit and you received the accommodation you booked and thought was suitable some weeks before.
We feel that your disappointment in this Motel could all have been avoided if the proper research had been done.
We also apologise to you if our cat Bailey upset you. We know that not everyone is a cat lover so we shall have a word with him about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

New Zealanders are known to be friendly but Nicky & Frank, the owners, took it to a new level, so very helpful. They even helped me repair a suitcase. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation is literally like new, totally clean (in our experience quite unusual) and equipped to a high standard. This the first time we have ever submitted a review but then it is the first time we have ever been this impressed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Brian S,
Many thanks for your kind words and thoughts on your stay with us. It was lovely for us having yourself and your wife stay with us. We hope that the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable.

Cheers, Nicky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Boutique Hotel for 15 nights over Christmas 2012 and cannot fault it. Rooms are modern and beautifully decorated and Nicky and Frank are wonderful hosts, with great recommendations on the local area (as well as further afield). Even the cat was welcoming and we were sad to leave. We look forward to seeing you next time! Simon & Caroline

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carosmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Carosmiler & partner,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. This is most appreciated as it is through guests reviews that you can let people know of our Motel, your great experience here and also of the beautiful Nelson Region.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Boutique Motel during your stay in Nelson. We are aware that there are quite a few establishments to choose from therefore we are honoured that you chose the Boutique Motel.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you both here and hope that on your next trip to our lovely country you will once again visit Nelson and again choose to stay with us here.
Hope that the rest of your holiday in the South Island was wonderful as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My sister, my cousin and I had a wonderful three night stay at the Boutique. Everything was clean, great colours and we loved the bathroom, especially the shower! We had a lovely secluded, quiet room and could relax and "nanny nap". The outside was surrounded by beautiful pots etc. of colourful flowers, just like the photo. We were between Nelson and Richmond, and not far from my son's wedding venue at The Monaco. Also, we were across the road from a Tavern Cafe Restaurant and had a fantastic meal on our last night. The petrol station next door was one of the cheapest. Very much recommend the Boutique to anyone who is looking for friendly owners who take great pride in their motel, and who took photos and shared a couple of laughs. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Ladies,
We are pleased you all arrived home safe and sound. Thank you for your lovely review of the Boutique Motel. We very much enjoyed your company whilst you stayed with us. It is lovely to hear laughter and know that our guests are having a good time when staying with us.
You know where we are if you are ever here in Nelson again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family loves the furnishing of the motel room, looks brand new. Great shower! The toiletries were well provided that reflect the thoughtfulness of the motel owners. Near to supermarket and we even found an Indian take-away eatery that provides delicious Indian cuisine.

They even have a swing for a great family photo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen_CLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyNelson, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hi Karen,
Thank you for your lovely review and your comments regarding the decor of the unit and the amenities we provide. I am constantly updating the Units as I believe it pays in the long run to keep up to date & I believe if guests are paying to stay somewhere the accommodation should be up to a high standard.
The swing area in the front is proving to be a popular place for guests to sit and relax in. Our summer so far has been very condusive to being outside.
We hope to see you again when you are next here in Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.6 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 42 in Nelson
76 reviews
3.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 42 in Nelson
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Urban Apartments
Urban Apartments
#36 of 42 in Nelson
23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beaches Nelson
Beaches Nelson
#16 of 42 in Nelson
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#8 of 42 in Nelson
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Motel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Motel Nelson

Address: 559 Main Road Stoke, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Motel Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a very popular and convenient location, the Boutique Motel offers its guests personal friendly service, peaceful surroundings, modern amenities, comfortable bedding and great showers.The important things in life when you are away from home. We are within walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, takeaways,the local shopping centre, Saxton Sporting fields and the WOW museum. Just 9kms to the centre of Nelson City. For the very best deals & prices available contact the Boutique Motel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Boutique Motel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing