We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greens Motel Nelson
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for three nights in February 2012. This motel has a good location, handy to the Tahunanui Beach area, Nelson Airport, the Nelson Airport and the WOW and Classic Cars museum.

The room rate was about average for Nelson but as someone else mentioned in another review, the Wifi internet charges are a bit steep compared to what I've paid at other motels. We decided to go without. To the management, you'd be doing yourself a favour by changing your provider from Voila to someone else.

Another issue is that we only seemed to have access to Freeview channels in our unit and not the Sky channels advertised. This didn't worry us much as we had a lot planned and weren't planning on watching much TV. That said, the TV was a modern Hi-Definition LCD and we found there was plenty on Freeview to keep us entertained.

The room was modern and the high-pressure shower and spa bath were welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, in a one bedroom. The room was spacious, clean, and well laid-out, with a balcony and decent view. Probably the worst feature was the internet access, charged at $8 for 25 MB (or $12 for 50 MB) per night (with the usage day ending at 10 am).

The hotel is close to the airport, but air traffic is light so this is not a problem. Loud guests partying outside on the weekend nights were more of a noise problem than the planes, but they mostly gave up by midnight or so.

The rooms have heaters but no fans or air conditioning. Nelson doesn't generally get too warm, but fans would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TechnoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Clean tidy comforable rooms, very hospitable owners, There was a minor error with beding arrangements but was quickly sorted and recieved a rollerway free of charge. absolutely lovely people!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baker449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were most impressed as room was very clean, spacious, well-equipped and warm. Parking facility was also good. The owner was friendly, hospitable, very helpful and welcoming. Interiors were good, modern look. Room had a nice balcony with lovely view. it's great value accommodation indeed. Super awesome stay! Everything just fabulous!!!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharuDawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was my second stay at this motel which provides a very comfortable and homely level of accommodation. The rooms are crisp, clean and will meet your needs.

I was very impressed with the way the owners take pride in their motel and take interest in their guests. Personally I like to just come in and out without any fuss or disturbance, but it was still good to see owners/managers who care about the quality of their rooms.

The hotel is near to the airport, and like many other motels in the Tahuna area, there is some noise from the propeller planes taking off and landing at the airport. Just something to be aware of, but as I mentioned, this does affect many motels in the area.

The only downside to the rooms are the curtains. The curtains are a light colour and let almost full light in during daylight hours. Personally I like a dark room to sleep, and for many this may not affect them at all. But just something to be aware of anyway.

Otherwise highly recommended as a good base to visit the Nelson region.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Have stayed here many times over the last 4 years for business and personal and found the accommodation to be of a very good standard.

The hosts are pleasant and easy to deal with and rooms modern and well sized. Room rates are very reasonable.

It is near the airport and next to the Nelson Golf Course but still close enough to the beach or city. Being well off the road you do not get much traffic noise and the airport does not operate too early in the morning so I have never had an issue sleep wise.

If you are looking for a central motel not in the city center I would happily recommend the Airport Greens Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

My final day on the South Island was spent at the Airport, Greens Motel, Nelson, NZ. I had been on a week long hiking trip prior to this stay on the west coast. The showers in the bathroom of this motel was unbelievable -- I've never had so much water come down at once, and it was nice and hot. The room was clean as a whistle, and a balcony with a great view. The motel was less than a five minute drive to the airport, and the manager of the motel gave me a ride there at 6:30 in the morning. Nice people! If ever I return to Nelson, I will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mid City Motor Lodge
Mid City Motor Lodge
#32 of 41 in Nelson
1 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#29 of 41 in Nelson
60 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castles Motel
Castles Motel
#25 of 41 in Nelson
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greens Motel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greens Motel Nelson

Address: 36 Golf Haven Way, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $71 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greens Motel Nelson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greens Motel - a putt away from the green Closest Motel to Nelson Airport.We are in the middle -Located half way between Nelson City and the Tasman district and so perfectly located to explore all of what the Sunshine capital has to offer.Located right on Nelson Golf clubs 18 hole championship links course.Adjacent to the picturesque waters of Tasman Bay.This beautiful seaside course is popular all year round.Choose us for your Wedding venue,anniversaries,reunions,funeral wake's.Phil and Jill Neal are your hosts at Greens Motel, and take pride ensuring that your stay in their apartment style motel is both relaxing and enjoyable. Sit in the garden or on your balcony with your favorite drink and soak up the sun that the Nelson region is famous for. Greens Motel is wheelchair accessible and convenient for both the corporate, the adventure traveler or for those just needing some time away from home.Greens Motel is the ideal location to work and/or play .Great selection of studio, one or two bedroom motel apartments. Corporate rates for the business traveler Off street parking. This Nelson motel is a great base from which you can shop or explore the Nelson region. Enjoy Nelsons mild climate conditions, with New Zealand's most sunshine hour's city. Ski rainbow ski field this winter or cruse around visiting the WOW museum and many boutique galleries.Ask us about our Golf Packages. They can be tailored for the most devoted players, or the casual amateurs. Head around the course as a couple or a family and relax. Hire a mountain bike and go exploring, or organize a tour around one of Nelson's breweries. There is much to see and do, all whilst staying at Greens Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greens Motel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing