We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$112
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$90
GrandMercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$77
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
160
43
4
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
43
4
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe nicest motelexecutive studiospa bathnew zealandclose to townseparate bedroomminute walkextra touchesmotor lodgegreat spalounge areavery pleasant stayrooms are spaciousfirst floorcentral nelsoncentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 217 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

okay once again just a 1 nighter at this place found all very friendly and happy and the rooms passed with a big tick found some eating places not far away so over all it was a place I would say to others yes give it ago for the price everyone's a winner oh yes the rooms a very clean so well done on this point. Bye may be back again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank na1199dia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, decided to pay ten dollars more for an executive 1 room suite and it was spot on - TV DVD stereo all cooking facilities huge bath and a balcony - clean and tidy - good access to town the shops and places to eat defiantly stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We arrived rather late from the North Island, but were welcomed instantly with no hassles. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and cosy. At check in we were provided with lots of information on local restaurants, the markets and directions for going on our journey afterwards. Easy walk into the town centre. Recommend Cedar Grove.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Cedar Grove was our first destination the South Island after a week of intensive travelling from Auckland etc, an early morning ferry crossing from Wellington with brief stops in Picton, along the Q Charlotte Drive, Havelock- NZ mussell capital yet the one main street restaurant was closed?!, charming river setting at Pelarius Scenic Reserve and yet we still only got to Nelson till post 5pm.

Cedar Grove is situated just as you come off the main road into Nelson. We had an Executive Studio room booked from their website. It was a generous 50sqmetre which gave us the breathing space to sort ourselves out for our next South island leg. The separate laundry room was used to do a small wash. The “kitchen" area plus table and 2chairs gave us facilities to cook our own breakfeast, lunch and evening meal and dishwasher for cleaning..TV and dvd player with 2 easy chairs and side table meant we could relax in the evening. First evening we enjoyed a great meal in Hopgoods restaurant -recommended.
Our first full day coincided with the remnants of the Lucie cyclone which meant a day of torrential rain ie a write off for outside activities however we needed the rest and enjoyed cooking in the room.
On the next (final) full day the weather had turned around with beautiful sunshine and we made a full day of it in the Abel Tasman park- very memorable part of our NZ tour

Would agree with other TA reviewers who note that the rooms are well and extensively furnished, things work, estate is quiet. Easy walking distance to all town sights and restaurants. Reception staff friendly and very helpful with advice etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is located right in the downtown area of Nelson so you can walk to it. It also is about 12 minutes from the airport. But that is not what gives it a 5. It is clean, spacious, modern- by that I mean it is bright inside, has new comfortable beds, lots of outlets, and a dishwasher. The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed to make a lovely supper. Our one bedroom place was $175NZ a night and well worth it. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful as well. We stayed at 7 hotels on the southern island and this was one of, if not the best. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews